CCC Sprandi Polkowice kicks off Italian series

On September 14th, at Coppa Bernocchi – G.P. BPM, CCC Sprandi Polkowice will kick off the series of Italian one-day events. The next day the “orange squad” will take on Coppa Agostoni – Giro delle Brianze.

 Coppa Bernocchi – G.P. BPM is a 1.1 race, held on the roads surrounding Legnano. It will consists of three parts – initial 45-kilometer stretch, 16,7-kilometer lap with one climb to Morazzone which will be covered 7 times, and the final 30 kilometers towards the line. The profile suits fast riders, but doesn’t disqualify climbers. Last year Vincenzo Nibali took the win here.

The Polkowice-based squad has selected strong 8-man roster for this race. It includes two Polish National Team members for European Championships, Maciej Paterski and Łukasz Owsian. Also two Italians are in the lineup – Davide Rebellin and Simone Ponzi, who is returning to competition after second collarbone injury this year. Great climbers – Victor de la Parte, Felix Grossschartner and Jan Hirt, as well as Jarosław Marycz, who showcased his sprinting skills at RideClassic London, will round out the 8-man team.

The same roster will race at Coppa Agostoni – Giro delle Brianze, which brings great memories to Davide Rebellin, who triumphed in last edition, beating Nibali. It was an outstanding team performance, since Maciej Paterski finished in 8th place. Simone Ponzi, who at the time was representing Southeast, came in just ahead of the Polish rider, in 7th. That trio will have a chance to repeat that result this year.

Both the start and the finish will be located in Lissone. The race has similar configuration as Coppa Bernocchi – G.P. BPM, with 24-kilometer hilly circuit (it includes three climbs) in the middle of the course. Final 35 kilometers of the route are mostly downhill.

Lineup of CCC Sprandi Polkowice for Coppa Bernocchi – G.P. BPM (September 14th, 1.1) and Coppa Agostoni – Giro delle Brianze (Septmeber 15th, 1.1): Davide Rebellin, Maciej Paterski, Victor de la Parte, Felix Grossschartner, Simone Ponzi, Łukasz Owsian, Jarosław Marycz, Jan Hirt.