Bałtyk-Karkonosze: Grzegorz Stępniak the leader of the race

Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) put on, after the fifth stage of the cycling race Bałtyk – Karkonosze, the yellow jersey of the leader, with the logo of the sponsor – the BGŻ Bank. The stage was won by Konrad Dąbkowski (BDC MarcPol), but Stępniak took the second place and he gained another six bonus seconds.

At the finishing line of the stage from Krosno Odrzańskie to Żary the third rider was another cyclist of BDC – Adam Wadecki, and the fourth place was taken by Tomasz Smoleń from the Bank BGŻ team. In the peloton the riders predicted for the leading places in the total classification reached Żary: the present leader of BGŻ ProLiga Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) and Dariusz Baranowski (BDC MarcPol).

Thanks to the bonus for the second place Stępniak overtook in the general classification the leader so far Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Polsat Polkowice) and he has a lead of four seconds over his team-mate. The next four seconds behind the leader is the last year’s triumpher of BGŻ ProLiga Łukasz Bodnar (Bank BGŻ) taking the third place, and Adam Wadecki advanced to the fifth place thanks to another bonus.

Two young riders – Piotr Kirpsza (BDC MarcPol) and Marcin Wolski (Wibatech Ziemia Brzeska) wanted to become heroes of the stage – by making a confident attempt to break away. For nearly 150 kilometres they were leading the race, but in the final stretch the effort cost them a pretty penny. Wolski took a remote place, and Kirpsza – the son of the known years ago cyclist – did not reach the finishing line.


The podium of the winners of stage five. From the left: Stępniak, Dąbkowski and Wadecki.


The new leader of the race – Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice)

The results of stage five (Krosno Odrzańskie – Żary, 178.6 km):

1. Konrad Dąbkowski (BDC MarcPol)   -4:27.59
2. Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice)
3. Piotr Wadecki (BDC MarcPol)
8. Sylwester Janiszewski
19. Kamil Zieliński
25. Adrian Honkisz
33. Marek Rutkiewicz
36. Tomasz Kiendyś
37. ŁUkasz Owsian
42. Paweł Charucki
57. Piotr Gawroński
61. Nikolay Mihaylov
66. Bartłomiej Matysiak
DNF Mateusz Taciak


The general classification after five stages:

1. Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice)  – 11:58.25
2. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – strata 4 s
3. Łukasz Bodnar (Bank BGŻ) – 8 s

On Friday the fifth stage is going to be held, from  Żary to Leśna (184.2 km). After the so-far five flat stretches, in the final parts of the Friday route the first uphills will occur.
The general sponsor of the Bałtyk – Karkonosze Tour 2012 race is the BGŻ SA Bank.

source:, photo by Robert Krajewski