Bałtyk-Karkonosze: Nikolay Mihaylov the winner of the race

The Bulgarian Nikolay Mihaylov (CCC Polsat Polkowice) won on Sunday in Karpacz the jubilee, 20th cycling race Bałtyk – Karkonosze. The success of the Bulgarian rider was decided on by the two Saturday stages.

In the afternoon the last, „royal” stage was held, from Kowary to Karpacz, with several difficult climbs and the final uphill stretch to Orlinek, well-known from the routes of Tour de Pologne. The riders reached the finishing line individually, or in groups of a dozen or so, and the best one was the experienced Robert Radosz (BDC MarcPol). Last year’s triumpher of Bałtyk – Karkonosze Tour minimally, by a second, overtook Mihaylov and by three seconds he overtook Błażej Janiaczyk (Bank BGŻ). In the fourth place, 40 seconds after the winner Marek Rutkiewicz finished the race.

Despite the excellent performance and the stage win Radosz did not manage to make up for the losses from the time trial, and eventually the took the third place in the race. The Bulgarian young rider’s final victory was decided on by both the before-noon stage and the extremely ambitious approach during the climb to Orlinek. Thanks to that Mihaylov overtook in Rutkiewicz by seven seconds in the final classification, and Radosz by 38 seconds.

Marek Rutkiewicz is still the leader of BGŻ ProLiga after this year’s five events, and thanks to the points for the second place in the general classification and at the finishing lines of the stages, he increased his lead over his competitors.
Marek Rutkiewicz confirmed his being excellently prepared for the season, and although before the start he had announced that he was going to treat Bałtyk – Karkonosze Tour a bit at ease, he showed again, that he belongs to our country’s top leaders. As Rutkiewicz stresses, his main goal is participation in Tour de Pologne and competing against the riders of the best professional groups.


The results of the eighth stage – Kowary – Karpacz (81.9 km)

1. Robert Radosz (BDC MarcPol) -2:26.1
2. Nikołaj Mihayłov (Bulgaria – CCC Polsat Polkowice) – @ 1 s
3. Błażej Janiaczyk (Bank BGŻ) – 3 s
4. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 40 s
5. Sylwester Janiszewski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 1.11
6. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 1.13

10. Piotr Gawroński – 1.46
12. Łukasz Owsian – 2.16
14. Paweł Charucki – 2.29
32. Adrian Honkisz – 18.15
33. Bartłomiej Matysiak
34. Grzegorz Stępniak
35. Kamil Zieliński


The final classification of the 20th Race Bałtyk – Karkonosze:

1. Nikołaj Mihaylov (Bulgaria – CCC Polsat Polkowice) 19:11.22
2. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – strata 7 s
3. Robert Radosz (BDC MarcPol) – 38 s

6. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 1.13
7. Sylwester Janiszewski – 1.44
11. Łukasz Owsian – 3.43
14. Piotr Gawroński – 4.14
15. Paweł Charucki – 4.19
23. Kamil Zieliński – 20.11
26. Grzegorz Stepniak – 20.58
30. Adrian Honkisz – 21.53
31. Bartłomiej Matysiak – 21.56

The team of CCC Polsat Polkowice became at the same time the best team of the race.