Bank BGŻ awarded the best Polish cyclists of the 2011 year

In the seat of Bank BGŻ the ceremonial Gala BGŻ of ProLiga took place. At the ceremony the best cyclists of the 2011 year were present, the organizers of the biggest Polish races and the legends of Polish cycling – Ryszard Szurkowski and Czesław Lang.

The podium was dominated by the cyclists from the cycling group of CCC Polsat Polkowice. Łukasz Bodnar became the winner of BGŻ ProLiga, the second place was taken by Tomasz Marczyński, the third by Marek Rutkiewicz. The awards for the best cyclists in the general classification were granted by Małgorzata Zdzienicka-Grabarz, the director of Departament Sponsoringu i Społecznej Odpowiedzialności Biznesu (The Department for Sponsoring and Social Responsibility of Business) . ‘Bank BGŻ has been supporting cycling for year. Our aim is to rebuild the Polish cycling greatness from years ago. BGŻ ProLiga suits that plan perfectly – it allows competing according to clear rules for the title of the best Polish cyclist in the season.’ – said Małgorzata Zdzienicka -Grabarz.

The President of BGŻ ProLiga Tomasz Jaroński emphasized the high prestige of the meeting: ‘I am glad, that we are concluding the ending cycling season of 2011 in such a way. The support from sponsors such as Bank BGŻ is much needed for Polish cycling. I believe, that in this way we will create good conditions for sporting rivalry of skilled contestants’.

BGŻ ProLiga is a general classification of cyclists participating in the most important Polish races. The whole cycle has been broadcast by Telewizja Polska – on channels: TVP 1, TVP Info and TVP Sport. The role of television was highlighted by Ryszard Szurkowski, the expert of BGŻ ProLiga: ‘The participation of TVP in that undertaking is very important. Thus, the television promotes cycling and enables the mass audience discover the beauty of that challenging sport.’