Carpathian Race: Two CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders in Top 10

Two “riders in orange” – Michał Paluta and Patryk Stosz – arrived in the Top 10 on stage 3 of Carpathian Race. Stosz regained the lead in the King of the Mountains classification.


Our goal for today was to be aggressive and try to get into the breakaway. The entire team was attacking from the very beginning and on one of the first climbs Patryk Stosz managed to break clear with one of the riders from Czech Republic. Later others wanted to bridge the gap, so I followed them and we joined Patryk’s group, creating a 10-man escape. We spent almost 100km in the front, but only 5 riders were actually working in the group. When Herklotz joined us he also was contributing to setting the pace. The gap was around 40-50 seconds, but when it was 6km to go, the peloton was only 200m behind us. This is when those riders, who didn’t work in the break launched their attacks. To the last kilometer me and Patryk were trying to ride in the front but the finale was very twisting and I started my sprint to late. We both felt well today and it’s a pity I was not able to take advantage of it in the end – Michał Paluta said.


Stage 3 of Carpathian Race was 125km long and ran from Stará Bystrica to Bytča. There were 5 GPM’s on the route and Patryk Stosz used that fact to his favor. He is in the contention for the overall KOM classification victory and he gained points on 4 occasions (hit the top in first place twice). That performance helped him regain the position as the best climber in the race.

Michał Paluta was riding with Stosz in a 10-man group. Yesterday’s escapees – Dries van Gestel (winner of stage 2) and Silvio Herklotz, and the KOM jersey owner Michael Kukrle were also present.

The group established a one-minute lead but it turned out to be enough to come to the line ahead of the bunch. In the sprint Twan Brusselman (Cyclingteam Jo Piels) was the strongest and claimed the win. He outsprinted Alberto Marengo and Herklotz. Michał Paluta finished 5th and Patryk Stosz 8th. Alvaro Cuadros (AWT-GreenWay) maintained his overall lead.