CCC Polsat Polkowice cyclists at the top of BGŻ ProLiga.

Tomasz Marczyński from the group of CCC Polsat Polkowice won in the final classification of Małopolski Wyścig Górski that ended on Saturday in Wysowa. The next places on the podium were taken by his team mates Marek Rutkiewicz and Łukasz Bodnar, who became the leader of the BGŻ ProLiga cycle. In the classification of BGŻ ProLiga the ‘orange’ team is holding the first two places.

Małopolski Wyścig Górski was an ultimate test for Polish teams before the Championships of Poland in road cycling that start on Thursday and are held in Złotoryja. That test was the most successful for the cyclists of the CCC Polsat Polkowice group, who took the complete set of places on the podium.

The first to reach the finishing line of the first stage was a 6-cyclist break-away, of whom the quickest to finish was the Dutch cyclist Tijmen Eising from the team of Sunweb Revor. There were three Poles in the break-away, the second place was taken by Tomasz Marczyński (CCC Polsat Polkowice), the third – Paweł Cieślik (Bank BGŻ) and the fourth one – Damian Walczak (BDC Team). The decisive one, as it turned out later, was the second stage, dominated by the cyclists from Polkowice. In the four-person break-away that reached over five minutes of advantage over the peloton, there were as many as three cyclists from the CCC Polsat Polkowice group. Marek Rutkiewicz won before Łukasz Bodnar. The third place was taken by Adrian Kurek, on a regular basis representing the French club of Océane Cycle Poitevin, who was the only cyclist to maintain the quick pace of the cyclists from Polkowice, the fourth one at the finishing line – Tomasz Marczyński – put on the leader’s jersey. The third stage did not bring any changes in the general classification. The best in the finish out of the leading group of 5 cyclists was Robert Radosz (BDC Team), before Mariusz Gil (Baboco) and Paweł Cieślik (Bank BGŻ).

Tomasz Marczyński enjoyed the final victory, overtaking Marek Rutkiewicz and Łukasz Bodnar in the general classification. In the general classification of BGŻ ProLiga the leading places are held by the same cyclists, but in a different order. The leader is Łukasz Bodnar before Marek Rutkiewicz and Tomasz Marczyński. Adrian Kurek advanced to the fourth place, having won his first points in BGŻ ProLiga. The report from Małopolski Wyścig Górski will be shown on Monday 20 June at 5:15 p.m. by TVP Sport.

The next races belonging to the classification of BGŻ ProLiga will be the Championships of Poland in road cycling. On Thursday we will know the medal winners in individual time trial, and on Sunday the winner of the white-and-red jersey of the champion of Poland in a massed start race will be known.

The classification of BGŻ ProLiga after Małopolski Wyścig Górski:

1. Łukasz Bodnar (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 131
2. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 115
3. Tomasz Marczyński (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 53
4. Adrian Kurek (Océane Cycle Poitevin) 31
5. Tomasz Smoleń (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 30
– Krzysztof Jeżowski (Bank BGŻ) 30
– Robert Radosz (BDC Team) 30
8. Paweł Cieślik (Bank BGŻ) 27
9. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 25
– Marek Cichosz (Legia Felt) 25
11. Michał Podlaski (KS Pogoń Aktio Group Mostostal Puławy) 20
12. Jacek Morajko (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 15
– Paweł Franczak (Ziemia Brzeska) 15
– Damian Walczak (BDC Team) 15
15.Jarosław Dąbrowski (TKK Pacific Kvis Norda Toruń) 11
16. Mariusz Witecki (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 8
– Mateusz Nowak (KTK Kalisz) 8
18. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 5
– Dariusz Rudnicki (BDC Team) 5
– Błażej Janiaczyk (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 5
21. Mariusz Gil (Baboco Cycling Team) 4
22. Grzegorz Haba (KS Pogoń Aktio Group Mostostal Puławy) 3
– Grzegorz Stępniak (ALKS Stal Ocetix Iglotex Grudziądz) 3
24. Sylwester Janiszewski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 1
– Paweł Bernas (GK Kellys Cartusia Kartuzy) 1

source: – Paweł Krygier