CCC Polsat Polkowice openes up the Race of “Solidarity” with two Top 5 results

First day of Race of Solidarity and Olympians was very unique. Not only because it was the first day of racing for Bartlomiej Matysiak in the national champion jersey. Two stages and very high pace made racing very hard and exciting.

The first two stages ran through flat terrain and as it turned out, they both belonged to sprinters. Stage one, from Lodz to Sulejow (115 km) ended up with a bunch sprint which was won by Konrad Dabkowski (ActiveJet). Throughout the entire distance there was nobody who could break clear. The closest to do so was a 16-men group with Tomasz Marczynski. They attacked in the second part of the stage and gained 20-second advantage. They were reeled in with 15km to go. At the end Dabkowski outsprinted Johim Ariesen (METEC-TKH Continential Cycling Team) and Davide Ballerini (TEAM IDEA). Grzegorz Stepniak came in 5th place.

Matysiak, for whome it was the first race in national champion jersey, punctured in the final 10k. He managed to get back to the field but was unable to fight for the victory.

Results of stage 1, Lodz-Sulejow, 115km

1. Konrad Dabkowski (ActiveJet)

2. Johim Ariesen (METEC-TKH Continential Cycling Team)

3. Davide Ballerini (TEAM IDEA)

5. Grzegorz Stepniak

18. Bartlomiej Matysiak

39. Maciej Paterski

66. Tomasz Marczyński

72. Adrian Honkisz

75. Jacek Morajko

The second stage had similar scenario, altough it was sorter (82,3 km). Very high pace made life very difficult for everyone who wanted to get into the breakaway. Lukasz Bodnar (ActiveJet) and Anatoliy Pakhtusov (ISD) were strong enough to escape and create 45 second lead. Thanks to common work of CCC Polsat Polkowice and Metec-TKH Continential Cycling Team the escapees got caught. Again it was all about the speed in the final meters. Kamil Gradek was the fastest and claimed the win. He beat Johim Ariesen and the morning winner, Konrad Dabkowski. Bartlomiej Matysiak was very close from making the podium and finished 4th.

Gradek became the new leader of the race and will wear the yellow jersey on tomorrows 160,3 kilometer stage from Przedborz to Kielce.

Results of stage 2, Zdunska Wola – Sieradz 82,3 km

1. Kamil Gradek (BDC MarcPol)

2. Johim Ariesen (METEC-TKH Continential Cycling Team)

3. Konrad Dabkowski (ActiveJet)

4. Bartlomiej Matysiak

29. Tomasz Marczyński

50. Maciej Paterski

64. Grzegorz Stepniak

65. Adrian Honkisz

74. Jacek Morajko