CCC Sprandi Polkowice for Worlds team time trial

For the fourth time in team’s history, CCC Sprandi Polkowice will take part in the UCI Road World Championships team time trial. Additionally three “riders in orange” will represent Poland in the road race.

Six-man roster flew to Doha to compete in the TTT. Victor de la Parte, Felix Grossschartner, Nikolay Mihaylov, Branislau Samoilau, Maciej Paterski and Łukasz Owsian made the squad for this event. Mihaylov is the most experienced among them in terms of number of participations in the Worlds time trials. He was part of all three teams – in 2012, 2013 and 2014. The best result was recorded in Ponferrada, when the team finished in 18th place.

This season CCC Sprandi Polkowice has raced against the clock on three occasions in UCI events, twice making the podium – 2nd in Czech cycling Tour, 3rd in Tour of Croatia and 16th in Tirreno – Adriatico. In all three Victor de la Parte contributed to that result, while Felix Grossschartner would always claim podium spots (Czech Republic, Croatia). In 2016 Owsian and Mihaylov have done two team time trials and Paterski and Samoilau one.

40-kilometer course awaits the riders in Qatar. The profile is completely flat, but the wind, technical beginning and finale should be something to watch out for. The finish will be located on an artificial island – The Pearl-Qatar.

Maciej Paterski and Łukasz Owsian were selected for the National Team for the elite road race (October 16th) as well. The championship route is 257,5km long (although it may be shortened due to extreme temperatures), as the final 107km will be carried out on a 15,7km lap which runs around “The Pearl”.

Alan Banaszek will represent white and red colors in the U23 ranks. He has proven top form at last HC race, Sparkassen Münsterland Giro, by finishing 6th. Espoirs have 166km to cover.

Lineup of CCC Sprandi Polkowice for UCI Road World Championships team time trial (October 9th): Victor de la Parte, Felix Grossschartner, Nikolay Mihaylov, Branislau Samoilau, Maciej Paterski, Łukasz Owsian

Road Race U23 (Polish National Team, October 13th): Alan Banaszek

Elite Road Race (Polish National Team, October 16th): Maciej Paterski, Łukasz Owsian