CCC Sprandi Polkowice lineup for Amstel Gold Race

Another prestigious race is ahead of the CCC Sprandi Polkowice team. After Milano-Sanremo the Polkowice-based squad will compete in the second UCI WorldTour one-day event this season, Amstel Gold Race (19th of April).

We will be racing in the Netherlands with the same lineup as in Brabantse Pijl, which was held few days ago. Maciej Paterski and Davide Rebellin both confirmed good form in Belgium, by claiming top 10 places. Maciej will be the leader for Amstel Gold Race, but we will also try to take advantage of the exceptional experience of Davide in this event. He’s won it once and fourth times made the podium. Nobody in the today’s peloton knows better this race than him – Piotr Wadecki, team’s DS said.

Despite abandoning De Brabantse Pijl due to crash, Grega Bole will also participate in AGR. He didn’t suffer serious injuries and will be able to compete. Stefan Schumacher showed in Belgium that he is getting stronger and stronger after the fractured wrist and the break from the bike. He was third best finisher of the “orange team” in the Brabant Arrow. Bartłomiej Matysiak was active in that race as well, as he tried to pull away within the last 40km. In last year’s edition of Amstel, Jarosław Marycz was part of the breakaway of the day and this time he also wants to show himself in the best possible way. The team will be completed by always solid Branislau Samoilau and Marek Rutkiewicz.

The riders will cover 258km course, filled with short but steep hills. There will be 34 of them. There are basically no flat parts which makes it very hard to take some rest in the peloton. Cauberg is expected to be the most crucial and decisive ascent. It will be climbed four times. When the riders hit its top for the last time, there will be only 1,8km to the finish in Valkenburg.

The CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders were racing on that route last year, when Davide Rebellin finished 13th.

CCC Sprandi Polkowice lineup for Amstel Gold Race: Maciej Paterski, Davide Rebellin, Grega Bole, Jarosław Marycz, Bartłomiej Matysiak, Branislau Samoilau, Stefan Schumacher, Marek Rutkiewicz