CCC Sprandi Polkowice to Puchar MON and Mem. Królaka

CCC Sprandi Polkowice has selected eight riders who will take part in the upcoming two Polish races – Puchar Ministra Obrony Narodowej (August 22nd) and Memoriał Stanisława Królaka (August 23rd). 

Jarosław Marycz, Marek Rutkiewicz, Eryk Latoń, Grzegorz Stępniak, Piotr Brożyna, Łukasz Owsian, Tomasz Kiendyś and Bartłomiej Matysiak will all participate in both events.

54. edition of Puchar Ministra Obrony Narodowej will be held on the Pisz-Orzysz course, nearby the biggest lake in Poland, Śniardwy. The race will consists of two laps and the total distance to cover is 176 kilometers. Last year the race ended with a bunch sprint finish and Grzegorz Stępniak took 2nd, but the competition took place in the different area of the country, in Szydłowiec.

Matysiak and Kiendyś have in total 5 victories in Puchar MON under their belt – the former has won three times and the latter twice.

Memoriał Stanisława Królaka is the final of Polish Championship in Criterium series. The start and the finish will be located on the main street in Warsaw, Krakowskie Przedmieście and the lap will be 3 kilometers long.

In the general classification of the Polish Championship in Criterium, Eryk Latoń sits in 2nd place in U23 category. He is 8 points behind Tobiasz Pawlak and is in the contention for the title (the classification is based on points collected on all the laps in every race included in the series). In elite category, Kamil Zieliński (188km) is the clear leader and is practically certain to take the final victory. Latoń (52pkt) is 4th and other “rider in orange”, Łukasz Owsian is ranked 5th (43pkt).