CCC Sprandi Polkowice to Turkish races

CCC Sprandi Polkowice is set to kick off „Turkish week” with Grand Prix Alanya (1.2, February 18th). This race will be followed by stage event, Tour of Antalya (2.2, 22-25.02).

The “orange squad” will take on both of these races with the same lineup. Paweł Franczak will lead the team in case of a bunch finish, while Paweł Bernas and Michał Paluta will be ready for a sprint from a shattered group. Leszek Pluciński and Piotr Brożyna are the best climbers on that roster, while Mateusz Taciak and Adrian Kurek should be seen in the breakaways. All of the riders have already the season debut behind them, after competing either in Colombia or Italiy.

Grand Prix Alanya is 175km long and will be held in undulating terrain, with 4 gentle climbs and flat finale. The course goes alongside the seaside, so it may get windy.

The start is scheduled for 10:00 Turkish time (8:00 Polish time) and the finish for 14:20 (12:20 Polish time). 25 teams are expected to participate. Most of them have Continental status.

Tour of Antalya consists of 4 stages and all the of them will start in the title city of Antalya. First two include cat. 1 climb early in the race and a flat finish. Day 3 should be crucial for the overall standings, as this is when interesting and short, 32,5-kilometer mountain stage will take place. Final 10km are all uphill and the riders will climb nearly 1km in elevation in that stretch. Undulating stage, which encourages to attack and gives hope to the sprinters, will wrap up the competition.

25 teams will line up at the start with two ProContintal squads – outside of CCC Sprandi Polkowice also Wilier Trestina – Selle Italia – as well as Continental, national and local clubs.

Tour of Antalya (22-25.02, 2.2):

22 February, stage 1, Antalya – Korkuteli, 132,2km

23 February, stage 2, Antalya – Kemer, 121,3km

24 February, stage 3, Antalya – Feslikan, 32,5km

25 February , stage 4, Antalya – Side – Lara, 146,2km

More details on

Lineup of CCC Sprandi Polkowice for Grand Prix Alanya and Tour of Antalya: Paweł Franczak, Paweł Bernas, Leszek Pluciński, Adrian Kurek, Mateusz Taciak, Piotr Brożyna, Michał Paluta