CCC Sprandi Polkowice U23 riders kick off the season in Slovenia and Croatia

Young CCC Sprandi Polkowice roster is heading to Slovenia  to inaugurate the 2016 season at GP Izola (28.02, 1.2). It will be followed by Croatian Umag Trophy (2.03, 1.2), Porec Trophy (5.03, 1.2) and a stage event, Istrian Spring Trophy (10-13.03, 2.2).

-Our U23 rider riders have worked hard in the off-season, under the wings of Tomasz Brożyna. At the beginning of the year they participated in a training camp in Zakopane, where they combined cycling and comprehensive trainings. Later, with the rest of the team they went to Calpe, where they focused mostly on trainings on bikes – Piotr Wadecki, sporting director f CCC Sprandi Polkowice, said.

We are lining up a 6-man squad for those Slovenian and Croatian events – 5 riders from the U23 category and Mateusz Taciak, who has two races this season under his belt –  Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana and Clasica de Almeria. Patryk Stosz also raced on the road in 2016, as he took part in Vuelta a Murcia and Alan Banaszek showed good form by winning omnium in the Polish Cup on track. 

Routes in Croatia

GP Izola is held in the undulating terrain, with the final kilometers running on the circuit with one climb. Two scenarios are possible in the finale – a small group arriving at the line or a bunch sprint finish. Next two races might have a similar ending. Last year Bartłomiej Matysiak was 5th in both of them.

The race around Umag will feature a 23-kilometer lap, with one hill, which will be covered 7 times (161km in total). In Porac the course is almost identical, with a lap being 20-kilometers long.

Istarsko proljece – Istrian Spring Trophy is a 4-day event. It will kick off with a 2-kilometer time trial and the next three stages are hilly. The profile of the entire route hasn’t been officially revealed yet, but in previous years, two out of three stages ended with a punchy uphill finish.

Lineup of CCC Sprandi Polkowice for GP Izola, Trofej Umag – Umag Trophy, Istarsko proljece – Istrian Spring Trophy: Patryk Stosz, Kamil Małecki, Piotr Brożyna, Michał Paluta, Alan Banaszek, Mateusz Taciak.