CCC’s poor performance in the Belgian classic races.

Fabian Cancellara from the team of Leopard-Trek became the winner of the Belgian race E3 Prijs Vlaanderen – Harelbeke, category 1HC. The team of CCC Polsat Polkowice took part in the race with the following composition: Dariusz Batek, Tomasz Kiendyś, Andre Schulze, Bartłomiej Matysiak, Tomasz Smoleń, Mateusz Taciak and Kamil Zieliński.

There were nearly 200 cyclists at the starting line of the classic race. They had a 222 kilometres long route to ride, with a much challenging uphill stretch below Taaienberg. Among the cyclists participating, the winner of last year’s edition Fabian Cancellara (Leopard – Trek) stood with number one.
For a half of the distance – a hundred kilometres – the cyclists in the peloton were riding together. The first attempts to ride away started only before the uphill stretch at Taaienberg, after which seven cyclists managed to break away. In the escape group there were: Heinrich Haussler (Garmin-Cervelo), Gustav-Erik Larsson (Saxo Bank-Sungard), Niki Terpstra (Quick-Step), Jurgen Roelandts (Omega Pharma-Lotto), Steve Chainel (FDJ) and Vincent Jerome (Europcar). The group achieved a little advantage over the next, chase group, the two of which finally joined, having an advantage over the peloton of one and a half minute. 35 kilometres before the finishing line the peloton accelerated a lot and got closer to the escaping cyclists. Fabian Cancellara took the opportunity to jump into the escape group and after riding several kilometres he decided to make a solitary attack. None of the escapees reacted to his attack and Cancellara started to ride alone to the finishing line in Harelbeke. The Swiss cyclist quickly worked out an advantage of almost a minute, and he retained it to the finishing line. Jurgen Roelandts (Omega Pharma-Lotto) arrived second at the finishing, overtaking Wladimir Gusiew (Katiusza).

A lot of cyclists did not endure the hardships of the race, withdrawing from the race, among them cyclists of the CCC Polsat Polkowice team. Out of the nearly 200 of those who started, only 105 cyclists completed the race. The best cyclist from the CCC Polsat Polkowice team, Tomasz Kiendyś took the 82nd position, whereas Sylwester Janiszewski was 84th.