Châteauroux Classic de l’Indre: Active Mihaylov, Marycz 16th

Jaroslaw Marycz finished in 16th place in the French one-day race Châteroux-Classic de l’Indre. In addition Nikolay Mihaylov spend most of the day in the 4-man breakaway. The race was won by Iljo Keisse (Omega Pharma Quick Step).

There were no long climbs on the course but there were also no flat parts. Up-and-down route with some extremely steep hills (up to 22% in the first half of the race) and the 200-kilometer distance was something that could make the rivalry hard and interesting.

After fast 50 kilometers and series of attacks 4 man breakaway was formed with Nikolay Mihaylov (CCC Polsat Polkowice) in it. Other escapees were Julien El Fares (Team La Pomme Marseille 13), Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Caja Rural – Seguros Rga), and Damien Monier (Bridgestone Anchor Cycling Team). They established maximum advantage of 5:20 at 90 km into the race.

Mihaylov took twice second place on the mountain prime.

Their adventure ahead of the bunch ended with 16 kilometers to go. In the end few riders wanted to claim the victory by attacking from the peleton. Jérémy Roy (, Nico Denz (AG2R La Mondiale) and in the final 2km Kevin Ista (IAM Cycling) tried to go solo, but the power of the bunch was simply too strong.

Iljo Keisse (Omega Pharma Quick Step) was the fastest on the line and he bested Romain Feillu (Bretagne-Séché Environnement) and Roy Jans (Wanty – Groupe Gobert). Jaroslaw Marycz was 16th and Tomasz Kiendys 25th with the same time as the winner.

Results of Châteauroux Classic de l’Indre Trophée Fenioux 2014 (1.1), Chateauroux – Chateauroux (203,8 km):

1. Iljo Keisse (Omega Pharma-QuickStep) 4:40:39

2. Romain Feillu (Bretagne Séché Environnement)

3. Roy Jans (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)

16. Jaroslaw Marycz

25. Tomasz Kiendys

35. Pawel Charucki

61. Adrian Kurek

81. Nikolay Mihaylov 0:26

87. Jacek Morajko

96. Davide Rebellin 0:28