Coppa Agostoni: Paterski in Top15

Maciej Paterski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) finished in 13th place the second race of the Trittico Lombardia, Coppa Ugo Agostoni. Niccolo Bonifazio from Lampre – Merida took the win.

This year it was 68th edition of the Italian race, which honors Ugo Agostoni, legendary cyclist from Lissone, where the event is held. The total distance to cover was 199,6 kilometers. After the initial, three 29-kilometer laps around Lissone in flat terrain, the riders headed towards four short, but steep hills in Ello, Colle Brianza, Gagliano and Lissolo. The race ended with three short circuits in the city. According to the organizers that is the hardest race of the Trittico Lombardia.

After lively beginning the 9-man group was established in the front with Simone Velasco (Włochy), Andrea Zordan (Androni Venezuela), Giorgio Cecchinel (Neri Sottoli), Andrea Piechele (Bardiani CSF), Frekalsi Debesay (MTN Qhubeka), Danilo Napolitano (Wanty Gobert Group), Ricardo Pichetta (Team Idea), Gianluca Leonardi (Area Zero) and Takashi Miyazawa (Vini Fantini Nippo De Rosa).

When they finished third initial lap, their advantage was 4 minutes. The peleton never lost control of the situation and reeled the escapees in in the more hilly part of the course.

On the hardest climb to Gagliano, Davide Rebellin (CCC Polsat Polkowice) broke clear with Diego Rosa (Androni Giocattoli – Venezuela). Later on another five riders joined them and together they were building up their lead over shredded bunch. The leading “7” maintained the gap until the laps in Lissolo. Lampre-Merida did most of the work to catch the escapees and set up high pace in the final kilometers.

The Italian team led out his man, Niccolo Bonifazio who claimed the victory. He outsprinted Grega Bole (Vini Fantini Nippo) and Simone Ponzi (Neri Sottoli). Maciej Paterski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) came in in 13th place – It was really hard race, with extremely fast first part of racing and difficult climbing after 100km mark. On the final lap I tried to attack but it turned out that my move was made to soon – said Paterski afterwards.

Only 62 riders among 200 who started the race, arrived to the finish.


Results of Coppa Agostoni – Giro delle Brianze (Lissone – Lissone, 199,6 km):

1. Niccolo Bonifazio (Lampre-Merida) 4:27:21

2. Grega Bole (Vini Fantini)

3. Simone Ponzi (Neri Sottoli)

13. Maciej Paterski

36. Davide Rebellin

43. Branislau Samoila

DNF Mateusz Taciak

DNF Marek Rutkiewicz

DNF Nikolay Mihaylov

DNF Jarosław Marycz

DNF Bartłomiej Matysiak