Coppi e Bartali: Rebellin 3rd on the last day, 5th overall

On the final stage of Settimana Coppi e Bartali, Davide Rebellin finished in 3rd place and completed the race in 5th overall. Louis Meintjens took both – stage and GC win.

It was a hard race in terms of the terrain and it was good for me, because I like when it’s more hilly. I was trying to be active, stay with the strongest and it resulted in a very good 3rd place. It was a pity that I lost some time on a very cold and rainy Friday’s stage, but I’m satisfied with the 5th in GC and my current form – Davide Rebellin said.

Sam Spokes (Drapac) and Primoz Roglic (Adria Mobil) launched the breakaway of the day. They broke clear late but managed to create over 4 minute gap. It was quickly reduced to one minute, with 63km to go. Roglic didn’t want to end his journey in the front of the race too soon and took off by himself. He left Spokes behind and built up a 2:40 lead.

When the advantage dropped to 2 minutes, Louis Meintjes (MTN-Qhubeka) decided to attack from the bunch. He joined Slovenian and the duo was riding together for some time. Also Davide Rebellin pulled away and was a part of the chasing group alongside Damiano Cunego and Freddy Montana (Movistar).

17km to go Meintjens made a solo move and maintained his lead all the way to the finish line, claiming the win. Although Davide Rebellin was caught in the finale by the group with the race leader, Ben Swift (Sky), Italian was strong enough to take 3rd place, behind Damiano Cunego. It was a 5th podium spot this week claimed by a CCC Sprandi Polkowice rider.

Despite solid chase, ran by Swift, the Brit couldn’t protect his GC lead and Meintjens became the final overall winner. Thanks to great performance on the last day by Rebellin, he advanced in the general classification to 5th.

Results of stage 4 of Settimana Coppi e Bartali, Pavullo – Roccapelago, 152.6km

1. Louis Meintjes (MTN-Qhubeka)

2. Damiano Cunego (Nippo – Vini Fantini) 1:12

3. Davide Rebellin (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

21. Grega Bole (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 5:19

23. Nikolay Mihaylov (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

73. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 24:12

74. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

75. Jarosław Marycz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

87. Christian Delle Stelle (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 28:29

DNF Adrian Kurek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


Final general classification

1. Louis Meintjes (MTN-Qhubeka)

2. Ben Swift (Team Sky)

3. Matija Kvasina (Team Felbermeyr)

5. Davide Rebellin (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 2:31

21. Grega Bole (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 12:16

37. Nikolay Mihaylov (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 21:00

67. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 41:22

79. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 46:56

80. Jarosław Marycz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

110. Christian Delle Stelle (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 1:09:21