‘Dookoła Mazowsza’ is beginning.

On Tuesday 27 July this year, the race for the Cup of the President of Biała Podlaska will start the 53rd edition of the International Tour de Mazovia (Dookoła Mazowsza) . That is the last test for the Polish cyclists before the approaching Tour de Pologne.

Another race in the cycle of Pro-League will start with an elimination race, held on the Market Square in Biała Podlaska. In such a race the last contestant of each lap drops out. The winner is one who stays in the peloton the longest and thus does the biggest number of laps.

The first stage from Siedlce to Kozienice is 180 kilometres long and although everybody knows that it is difficult to find hills in Mazovia, the organizers have arranged as many as four climbs and three intermediate sprints. After riding to Kozienice the cylists will cover two laps. The second stage, from Zwoleń to Szydłowiec is a distance of 162 kilometres. After entering Szydłowiec the peloton will have six laps to cover, within each of them there will be a climb situated. The next, third stage will be held on Friday, and the column of the race will move from Nowe Miasto on the Pilica to Warszawa. In the Wesoła district, on Jana Pawła Street the racers will do six laps. The stage is 133 km long.

The last stage, on Saturday, leads from Nowy Dwór Mazowiecki to Płock. That stage will be 167 km long. The final stretch of the stage will be based on very interesting circuits in Płock. The stiff uphill stretch along Mostowa Street and the cobbled road may result in significant changes in the GC.

At the start there will be all Polish professional teams, the national team of Poland, Warmińsko-Mazurski Klub Sportowy, Team Nutrixxion Sparkasse, Dukla Trencin, PSK Whirpool, the national team of Belarus, Rietumau-Delfin, LKT-Team Branderburg.

The director of the race, Marcin Wasiołek said: My favourite is an experienced sprint cyclist, but who it will be, that’s what I do not know. I think that the race may be decided only on Saturday in Płock, where in the old town there we have a lot of cobbled roads and uphill stretches. It’s our little Paris-Roubaix.

This year there is no individual time trial, which in the previous years decided about the final triumph. The race will be decided on sprints, and here last year’s Champion of Poland Krzysztof Jeżowski (CCC Polsat) may fight, who last year competed with the revelation of the season Peter Sagan (Liquigas).

The CCC Polsat Polkowice team will appear with its strongest line-up. In the team there will be, among others, three cyclists who will take part in the Tour de Pologne: Łukasz Bodnar, Bartłomiej Matysiak and Tomasz Marczyński. Moreover: Krzysztof Jeżowski, Tomasz Kiendyś, Tomasz Lisowicz, Jarosław Rębiewski and Tomasz Smoleń.