Dookoła Mazowsza: Kiendyś’s 6th place in stage 1.

The cyclist of the Dukla Trencin team, Matej Jurco, became the winner of the 1st stage of the ‘Dookoła Mazowsza’ race. At the finishing line in Nowy Dwór Mazowiecki he defeated the German, Rudiger Selig (Jenatec Cycling) and Robert Radosz (BDC Team).

During the first stage of the race the cyclists had a very long distance to ride, a route of 197 kilometres, which led along the roads around Nowy Dwór Mazowiecki. The difficult weather conditions on that day were additional impairments. From the very start the cyclists were accompanied by constant rain. The final metres in the finishing stretch in Nowy Dwór Mazowiecki were ridden by the cyclists in a heavy rain, and along the roads streams of water were flowing.

The beginning of the stage was quite unlucky. In the 20th kilometre there was a big crash in which a big part of the 95-cyclist peloton collapsed. The crash took place on a wooden bridge, which – wet with rain water – became very slippery, which caused the crash, in which among others the leader of the race, Andre Schulze (CCC Polsat Polkowice) fell down. Then there was a ‘break’ within the peloton out of which a group rode: Piotr Antkowiak, Marek Cichosz and Łukasz Modzelewski (all from Legia-Felt), Wojciech Ziółkowski, Robert Radosz, Damian Walczak, Dariusz Rudnicki (all from BDC Team), Tomasz Lisowicz, Krzysztof Jeżowski, Jarosław Rębiewski, Artur Detko (all from Bank BGŻ), Tomasz Kiendyś, Łukasz Bodnar and Mariusz Witecki; (all from CCC Polsat Polkowice), Rudiger Selig,Nick Feldan (both from Jenatec Cycling), Adam Wadecki and Jacek Kirpsza (both from Aktio Group Mostostal Puławy), Wojciech Pszczolarski (Wielkopolska Regionalna) , Karol Novak (Tusnad Cycling Team) and Alexander Fadeev (Warmia i Mazury).

The group gained an advantage over the peloton quite fast, at one moment it was over 10 minutes.

When there were a bit more than 25 kilometres, out of the escaping group seven cyclists attacked. They were: Tomasz Kiendyś, Robert Radosz, Łukasz Modzelewski, Matej Jurko, Rudiger Selig, Damian Walczak and Karol Novak. Right before entering the little laps along te streets of the Modlin stronghold Matej Jurko attacked and he did not give the leading away until the end, becoming the winner of the stage.
12 seconds after the winner, the second at the finishing line Rudiger Selig arrived, and the third one to cross the finishing line was Robert Radosz.

Rudiger Selig became the leader of the race, overtaking Matej Jurko by 2 seconds and Robert Radosz by 7 seconds. Tomasz Kiendyś, 15 seconds behind the leader, is holding the fifth place.

The results of stage 1, Nowy Dwór Maz. – Nowy Dwór Maz., 197 km

1. Jurko Matej (Dukla Trencin) 4:39:50
2. Rudiger Selig (Jenatec Cycling) 0:12
3. Robert Radosz (BDC Team)

6. Tomasz Kiendyś
18. Mariusz Witecki 4:21
24. Łukasz Bodnar 5:03
56. Mateusz Taciak 17:00
80. Sylwester Janiszewski
92. Tomasz Smoleń
94. Błażej Janiaczyk
95. Andre Schulze