Etoile de Bessèges: Taciak 18th in the final ITT

Mateusz Taciak set 18th fastest time in the last stage of Etoile de Bessèges, which was an individual time trial. Bob Jungels took both stage and GC victory.

– Despite very hard previous stage I felt pretty good today – Mateusz Taciak said afterwards. – The course of the time trial and the weather conditions were very demanding. Strong wind didn’t make the ride any easier either. In the end there was a climb and the final 1,5km was very steep. My plan for the TT was the same as usual for those kind of races – head low and full gas – he added.

The last stage was held in Ales and 12km long. Taciak was one of the first riders to take off. He recorded very good time – 18 minutes and 24 seconds. It was the best result in the first hour of racing. Later he was surpassed by 17 riders and finished in 18th. Davide Rebellin was the 2nd best “rider in orange” and took 40th place. Nikolay Mihaylov was not able to start due to illnes.

The strongest rider on that day was Bob Jungels, who not only claimed the stage victory but also moved up to 1st overall and won the entire race. Two Lotto – Soudal riders stood on the podium next to him – Tony Gallopin and Kirs Boeckmans. The highest ranked CCC Sprandi Polkowice rider was Davide Rebellin – 51st.

Results of stage 5 of Etoile de Bessèges, Ales – Ales, 12km (ITT)

1. Bob Jungels (Trek Factory Racing)

2. Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)

3. Fabio Fellina (Trek Factory Racing)

18. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 0:44

40. Davide Rebellin (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 1:06

80. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)1:55

85. Branislau Samoilau (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 2:01

113. Adrian Honkisz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 2:32

118. Jan Hirt (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 2:39

DNS Nikolay Mihaylov (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


Final general classification

1. Bob Jungels (Trek Factory Racing)

2. Tony Gallopin (Lotto Soudal)

3. Kris Boeckmans (Lotto Soudal)

51. Davide Rebellin (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 2:57

69. Adrian Honkisz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 4:23

127. Branislau Samoilay (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 22:44

129. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 23:11

132. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 24:31

133. Jan Hirt (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 25:54