News

Get to know Simone Ponzi

 

Simone Ponzi is one of the best Italian riders. He can sprint, he is a silver medalist from world championships U23 in 2008 and also has tens of top 5 places under his belt. What’s also interesting is the fact, that his idol from childhood now is his roommate. 

How was your beginnings in cycling

I was only 6 years old when I picked up cycling. I was doing very well at the young age. From the time I was 6 until I turned 21, I won 130 road races. I entered professional ranks when I was 22 and my first team was Lampre. After that I was riding for Liquigas, Astana, Neri-Sottoli and last year I was with Southeast.

What’s your hobby outside of cycling?

This year darts became my big passion. I also like music and books. My favorite writer is Giorgio Faletti

Describe your hometown

I live in Brescia, by the Lago di Garda. I have very good conditions for training, although it gets chilly in the winter – the temperature drops to around 2-3 degrees. Usually it doesn’t snow there, but we often experience fog.

What do you listen to when you warm up before the time trial?

I am very intense person, so I need to calm down before the race. That’s why I listen to Coldplay.

Your idol?

When I started off I wanted to be like Michele Bartoli, who was a great classic rider. I never really wanted to be a Grand Tour contender and I was always focusing on one-day events. My other idol is sitting next to us, Davide Rebellin. I grew up watching him race in Liege-Bastogne-Liege or Paris-Nice and now I’m staying with him in one room during the training camp. It’s unbelievable and I can say that one of my dreams has come true. It’s a great privilege to have to possibility to be on the same team as him.

Best day on a bike in your career?

It was in Donoratico in 2014, where the finish of Costa degli Etruschi was located. Everything went perfectly that day, I crossed the line by myself and it was the first race of the season. I couldn’t imagine a more perfect inauguration.

Favorite movie?

It’s hard for me to choose only one. Usually I like the most the last movie I watched.

Other sports you are interested in?

I already mentioned darts. The other one is football. My favorite team is Inter Milano and also Brescia Calcio, which is now in Serie B.

What are your mechanical bike skills

I don’t know much about bikes from a mechanical standpoint. Aside from setting the saddle position, I prefer not to change anything in my bike.

Favorite social media?

Instagram. I don’t have Facebook, but I plan to create my own profile this year.