Giro del Trentino, Scarponi wins, Marczyński the 44th

The cyclist of the Astana team, Roman Kreuziger, became the winner of the last, fourth stage of Giro del Trentino. In the uphill stretch in Madonna di Campiglio he overtook his companion from the breakaway Emanuel Sella (Androni Giocattoli). The third place was taken by Jarosław Popowicz from RadioShack.

The fourth, final stage of the race, 161.5 km long, led from Andalo and ended with a 14-kilometre-long uphill stretch in Madonna di Campiglio. Like during the previous stages, right after the start a group of five cyclists rode out of the peloton, among them: Roman Kreuziger, Emanuele Sella, Jarosław Popowicz, Matteo Montaguti and Angel Vicioso. The breakaway gained a big advantage over the peloton, because in the peloton there was not anybody to chase them, and it suited the leader and his group.

When the cyclists were approaching the final uphill stretch in Madonna di Campiglio, there were only three cyclists in the breakaway group: Kreuziger, Sella and Popowicz. The Czech cyclist Kreuiziger was first to arrive at the finishing line, beating the Italian Emanuel Sella. 8 seconds after the winner, as the third one, the Ukrainian Jarosław Popowicz crossed the finishing line. The chase group, that arrived 24 seconds adrift of the winner, was brought by Thomas Voeckler, Przemysław Niemiec (Lampre-ISD) was the 15th, and Sylwek Szmyd the 20th.

Jose Mendes (CCC Polsat Polkowice) was really unlucky today. He had been taking the 13th place in the general classification before the start of the last stage. The Portuguese racer did not complete today’s race.

Marek Rutkiewicz rode the best out of the CCC Polsat Polkowice racers, taking the 38th place, 2 minutes and 10 seconds adrift of the winner. Adrian Honkisz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) was unfortunately not awarded the jersey of the mountains classification leader.

The results of stage 4, Andalo – Madonna di Campiglioa, the distance 161.5 km

1. Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Pro Team Astana 4:09:03
2. Emanuele Sella (Ita) Androni Giocattoli
3. Jarosław Popowicz (Ukr) Team RadioShack 00:08

38. Marek Rutkiewicz 02:10
56. Jacek Morajko 07:46
57. Mariusz Witecki
62. Tomasz Marczyński
63. Adrian Honkisz
119. Łukasz Bodnar 18:48
126. Dariusz Batek 23:13
DNF. Jose Mendes

The winner of the race is Michele Scarponi, better by 7 seconds than the Portuguese racer Machado. The third racer, 33 adrift of the leader, was Luca Ascani (d’Angelo & Antenucci – Nippo).
Sylwester Szmyd completed the race in the high, eleventh place, Przemysław Niemiec was 20th and the best of the CCC Polsat Polkowice racers – Tomasz Marczyński was in the 44th place.

The final classification

1. Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre – ISD 13:54:07
2. Tiago Machado (Por) Team RadioShack 00:07
3. Luca Ascani (Ita) d’Angelo & Antenucci – Nippo 00:33

44. Tomasz Marczyński 15:32
58. Adrian Honkisz 22:49
59. Marek Rutkiewicz 23:02
66. Jacek Morajko 26:12
75. Mariusz Witecki 30:44
96. Łukasz Bodnar 41:13
125. Dariusz Batek 55:44