Grzegorz Stępniak the first leader of the Szlakiem Bursztynowym race.

Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) became winner of stage 1 of the Szlakiem Bursztynowym – Hellena Tour 2012 race. At the finish in Warta he defeated the riders of the BDC MarcPol team, Konrad Dąbkowski and Adam Wadecki.

During the first stage of the Szlakiem Bursztynowym race the riders had a route of the total length of 155 kilometres to ride, leading along the roads around Jeziorsko. At the starting line in Warta there were about 180 riders of all Polish professional and amateur teams, as well as riders from the Czech Republic, Germany and Slovakia. The peloton set off in Warta, where the finishing line of the stage was situated too.

The route of the stage was relatively flat along its whole length, only at places strong gusts of wind shattered the especially numerous this year’s peloton. There were a lot of attacks and attempts to break away, but none of the attacking groups managed to ride away for a long time. All the break-away attempts were successfully and quickly eliminated.

During the stage the riders of CCC Polsat Polkowice rode very actively, and the team appeared with a line-up of 10 riders. Adrian Honkisz rode very well, winning twice at intermediate stages, winning thus the combativity jersey. Right before the finishing line, out of the peloton, now divided into a bit smaller groups, a solitary attack was performed by another CCC rider, Nikolay Mihaylov. Unfortunately, he did not succeed and the rushing peloton eliminated Mihaylov’s breakaway and started fighting for the stage win. The well positioned Grzegorz Stępniak, who this year showed during the race in Portugal that he is able to finish well, defeated two BDC riders and he crossed the finishing line first, becoming the leader of the race.


The results of stage 1, Warta – Warta, 155 km

1. Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice)
2. Konrad Dąbkowski (BDC MarcPol)
3. Adam Wadecki (BDC MarcPol)

28. Bartłomiej Matysiak
34. Marek Rutkiewicz
44. Kamil Zieliński
52. Adrian Honkisz
55. Mateusz Taciak
62. Tomasz Kiendyś
66. Nikolay Mihaylov
79. Sylwester Janiszewski
93. Paweł Charucki


The general classification after stage 1:

1. Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 3:34:32
2. Konrad Dąbkowski (BDC MarcPol) 0:02
3. Adam Wadecki (BDC MarcPol) 0:03
4. Adrian Honkisz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 0:04
5. Nikolay Mihaylov (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 0:08
8. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 0:08


Adrian Honkisz – black, combative leader jersey

Nikolay Mihaylov – red, aggressive leader jersey