Hellena Tour: Stępniak wins again, Rutkiewicz still leading.

Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) again performed an excellent finish, and he became the winner of stage 3 of Szlakiem Bursztynowym – Hellena Tour. At the finish in Kazimierz Biskupi he was quicker than Konrad Dąbkowski (BDC MarcPol) and Alois Kankovski (ACS Dukla Praga).

During the next, third stage of the race, held before the noon, the contestants rode a short distance of 103 kilometres. It led from Kalisz to Kazimierz Biskupi. The route of that stage, like during the whole race, was in a flat area, and the only nuisance was quite strong, cold wind.

The stage was controlled absolutely by the team of CCC Polsat Polkowice and its riders, riding very actively, scored points, winning all three intermediate stages. Points were scored among others by Grzegorz Stępniak, Sylwester Janiszewski and Bartłomiej Matysiak. Thanks to the points won, Grzegorz Stępnia will ride the last stage in the leader’s jersey of the points classification, and Adrian Honkisz in the combative rider’s jersey.

As during the first stage of the race, despite numerous attacks, the majority of the peloton arrived at the finishing line in Kazimierz Biskupi, and Grzegorz Stępnia did an excellent field-spring out of it again, and he stood on the highest podium for the second time. In the sprint he defeated the rider of BDC MarcPol, Konrad Dąbkowski and the Czech rider Alois Kankovski from ACS Dukli Praga.

Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) maintains the position of the leader of the general classification of the race, quicker by 20 seconds than Mateusz Nowak from KTK Kalisz and by 23 seconds better than his team-mate, Grzegorz Stępniak.


The results of stage 3 of the race, Kalisz – Kazimierz Biskupi, 103 km,

1. Stępniak Grzegorz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 2:42:25
2. Dąbkowski Konrad (BDC MarcPol)
3. Kankovski Alois (ACS Dukla Praga)

16. Rutkiewicz Marek
24. Janiszewski Sylwester
26. Kiendyś Tomasz
30. Matysiak Bartłomiej
33. Charucki Paweł
36. Zieliński Kamil
38. Taciak Mateusz
42. Honkisz Adrian
121. Mihaylov Nikolay 0:55


The general classification of the race after 3 stages.

1. Rutkiewicz Marek (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 6:34:41
2. Nowak Mateusz (KTK Kalisz) 0:20
3. Stępniak Grzegorz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 0:23
4. Bartkiewicz Andrzej (Wibatech –Ziemia Brzeska) 0:29
5. Taciak Mateusz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 0:33

12. Matysiak Bartłomiej 0:50
15. Kiendyś Tomasz 1:06
20. Mihaylov Nikolay 1:20
28. Honkisz Adrian 1:34
32. Charucki Paweł 1:43
37. Zieliński Kamil 1:57
38. Janiszewski Sylwester