Hellena Tour: Stepniak wins the bunch sprint on stage 3

CCC Sprandi Polkowice took second victory in one day. After the successful morning time trial for the “orange team”, Grzegorz Stępniak won stage 3 of Szlakiem Bursztynowym – Hellena Tour.

I was a very chaotic stage. The peloton would split at least 10 times due to Kolss-BDC attacks when the crosswind was blowing. We had to bridge those gaps and thanks mostly to our work the group would always come back together.

The finale consisted of three 2,5km laps and we’d agreed that we will enter them with our entire team at the head of the bunch. Kolss-BDC implemented the same idea later on. I took advantage of their work in the final kilometer and started my winning sprint with 200m to go.

I want to dedicate my victory to my grandfather, who passed away few days ago. That’s for HimGrzegorz Stępniak said afterwards.

The 144km stage from Kalisz to Kazimierz Biskupi had similar scenario as stage one, as it saw lots off attacks and attempts to break the peloton in pieces by Kolss-BDC team. CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders were riding attentively and always had the two most crucial representatives in the front – Łukasz Owsian, the highest ranked GC rider and Grzegorz Stępniak, the fastest sprinter on the team.

With 50km to go Eryk Latoń pulled away, alongside Błażej Janiaczyk. They were reeled in before entering the final circuits. Nobody was able to create bigger gap after that and it came down to a bunch sprint. Grzegorz Stępniak outsprinted Andrij Kulyk (Kolss-BDC) and Mateusz Nowak (Domin Sport).

Łukasz Owsian, who crashed during the stage, but quickly came back to the peloton, finished with the same time as Stępniak and kept his third place overall.

Results of stage 3 of Szlakiem Bursztynowym – Hellena Tour, Kalisz – Kazimierz Biskupi, 144km

1. Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

2. Andrij Kulyk (Kolss-BDC)

3. Mateusz Nowak (Domin Sport)

12. Łukasz Owsian (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

13. Eryk Latoń (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

20. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

36. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

62. Kamil Małecki (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

79. Piotr Brożyna (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

80. Jakub Kaczmarek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

82. Leszek Pluciński (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)