Henryk Lasak Memorial: Paterski wins after solo move

After winning the King of the Mountains classification in Tour de Pologne, Maciej Paterski took another victory. He won the Henryk Lasak Memorial, by attacking solo in the final part of the race.

CCC Polsat Polkowice riders were active and present in the most important breakaways. One of the early attacks came from the group of 20 riders. Among them there was Tomasz Marczynski, Adrian Honkisz and Lukasz Owsian. They gained almost 3 minute advantage.

Łukasz Bodnar (ActiveJet) and Oleksandr Prevar (Kloss Cycling Team) attacked from that group and that was the only time that CCC Polsat Polkowice rider was not in the front. While the duo was trying to increase their lead the chasing group extended to 40-man peleton. The “orange team” started pushing the pace and the gap got closed. The race began all over.


Another move was made by Emanuel Piaskowy (ActiveJet), and Branislau Samoilau (CCC Polsat Polkowice) quickly followed him. They were soon reeled in. Next ones to go were Tomasz Marczynski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) and Kamil Gradek (BDC MarcPol). They established 1 minut lead but it was also not enough to outwit peleton.

With 16k to go Maciej Paterski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) decided to go solo. On the final kilometers he pulled a one-man show, building up almost 1 minute gap. He didn’t let the shredded peleton to catch him and claimed great win.

Pawel Franczak (ActiveJet) was 2nd and Mykyaylo Kononenko (Kolss Cycling) rounded out the top three.

Tommorow, on the 17 of August the same riders will take part in Puchar Uzdowski Karpacki race (1.2 cat UCI).


Results of Henryk Łasak Memorial, 16.08.2014

1. Maciej Paterski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 4:34:57

2. Pawel Franczak (Activejet Team) 0:30

3. Mykhaylo Kononenko (Kolss Cycling Team)

4. Blazej Janiaczyk (BDC-Marcpol Team)

5. Lukasz Bodnar (Activejet Team)

6. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice)