Istrian Spring Trophy: Latoń finished 8th on the last stage

Eryk Laton finished off the Istrian Spring Trophy with a good performance. After the bunch sprint he claimed top 10 place on the last stage

Today’s stage was hilly and at the same time very fast. The average speed reached 45km/h and because of that it was very hard to form a breakaway. The only group that managed to build bigger gap consisted of 7 riders and broke away around halfway point. They established 1 minute lead – Tomasz Brozyna, sport director said.

The leaders were reeled in with about 30 km from the finish on the circuits in Umag. After that the series of attacks began. The last out of 3 laps was very fast and it came down to a bunch sprint. Eryk Latoń put out strong performance in the end and finished in Top 10. Bartłomiej Matysiak, who placed twice in the Top 5 himself in the Croatian races few days earlier, helped Latoń in the finale and made sure that his younger teammate starts the sprint from the good position.

Latoń crossed the line in 8th. Mirko Kump (Adria Mobil) got the win by outsprinting the duo of Team Idea 2010 ASD, Matteo Malucelli and Davide Vigano. Markus Eibeger (Synergy Baku Cycling Project) defended the leader’s yersay and added victory in Istrian Spring Trophy to his palmeras. Bartłomiej Matysiak was the team’s top finisher in general classification – 22nd place.

Results of stage 3 of Istrian Spring Trophy, Pazin – Umag, 156km

1. Mirko Kump (Adria Mobil)

2. Matteo Malucelli (Team Idea 2010 ASD)

3. Davide Vigano (Team Idea 2010 ASD)

8. Eryk Latoń (Poland)

26. Patryk Stosz (Poland)

50. Jakub Kaczmarek (Poland)

53. Bartłomiej Matysiak (Poland)

89. Piotr Brożyna (Poland)

100. Michał Paluta (Poland)


General classification

1. Markus Eibeger (Synergy Baku Cycling Project)

2. Sergey Nikolaev (Itera – Katusha)

3. Silvia Herklotz (Team Stölting)

22. Bartłomiej Matysiak (Poland) 1:05

31. Eryk Latoń (Poland) 1:18

37. Jakub Kaczmarek (Poland) 1:24

65. Michał Paluta (Poland) 2:15

108. Piotr Brożyna (Poland) 4:17

159. Patryk Stosz (Poland) 19:10