It’s time to start the 68th Tour de Pologne

Almost three days before the beginning of the 68th edition of Tour de Pologne in Warszawa a press conference was held. The General Director – Czesław Lang gave details about this year’s race, also cyclists of CCC Polsat Polkowice appeared, those who were given a chance to participate in such a prestigious race.

At the presidium table the following ones sat: Czesław Lang, Marian Zalewski – a Member of the Management of Telewizja Polska, Jan Starzyński – the President of Pruszków, Wiesław Wilczyński – the Director of Biuro Sportu i Rekreacji Warszawy (the Office for Sports and Recreation of Warsaw) and Katarzyna Sobierajska – the Deputy Minister of Sport and Tourism.
At the starting line of this year’s Tour de Pologne the greatest cycling stars of the world. There will be the winners of Giro d’Italia, Vuelta a Espana and the biggest classic races in the world.

Among 22 teams with 176 cyclists there are representatives of 35 countries, which is a record of our national Tour. For the first time representatives of Kenia, China, Curacao and Chile are going to participate. The numerous representation will be the one of Italy, while Poles are in the second place.

Apart from the CCC Polsat Polkowice team, which will appear in the following composition: Marek Rutkiewicz, Jacek Morajko, Tomasz Marczyński, Bartłomiej Matysiak, Łukasz Bodnar, Mateusz Taciak, Błażej Janiaczyk and Jose Mendes, the National Team of Poland is going to appear at the starting line. 22 Poles who will stand at the starting line of Tour de Pologne are starting with great hopes. Let us remind you that the last Pole to win the Tour was Cezary Zamana (2003), and the last stage win took place in 2004 thanks to Marcin Sapa and Marek Rutkiewicz.

The beginning of the greatest sports event in Poland is only hours apart. We are keeping our fingers crossed for our compatriots, and let this Tour go down in history.

Source: “Biuro Prasowe LangTeam”