Janiszewski wins in the prologue of Dookoła Mazowsza, Stępniak – the leader

The rider of the CCC Polsat Polkowice team, Sylwester Janiszewski became the winner of the prologue of the 55th International Race Around Mazowsze. The yellow jersey of the leader was won by his team-mate Grzegorz Stępniak.

The competition of the riders in the Dookoła Mazowsza race started with a prologue – the Memorial of Marek Cichosz, held at the Horse Racing Track in Służewiec in Warszawa. The 140-rider peloton, consisting of the leading Polish professional and amateur teams, as well as foreign ones, had a distance of the total length of 45 kilometres to ride – 18 circuits, 2.4 kilometres each. The prologue was held in the form of a criterium: the points classification (the sum of points in circuits) and as a scratch – the winner becomes the first leader of the race.

The peloton imposed a very tough pace of the ride from the beginning, which made the average speed of the prologue reach almost 48 km/h. A very active and effective ride was presented by the riders of CCC Polsat Polkowice, who dominated in the peloton from the beginning of the race. The specialist in criteriums, Sylwester Janiszewski, scrupulously collect points at point-awarding primes and gathered the total number of 27, which gave him a definite victory in the prologue. The second contestant in the points classification of the prologue, Mateusz Nowak from the National Team of Poland in U-23, won 14 points, and another rider of CCC Polsat Polkowice, Bartłomiej Matysiak with 13 points took the 3rd place.

In the scratch the best one was the sprint rider of CCC Polsat Polkowice, Grzegorz Stępniak, who fought for the yellow jersey of the leader against the rider of the BDC MarcPol team, Konrad Dąbkowski. In the last, sharp bend before the finishing line Dąbkowski had a fall, which eliminated him from the fight for the victory.

Today it was a very good ride for me – said Grzegorz Stępniak at the finishing line. From the very start I felt great and i wainted for the last lap to finish for the leader’s jersey. Such a task was given to me and I am glad that I was able to fulfil it.

The individual (points) classification of the prologue:

1. Sylwester Janiszewski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 27 points.
2. Mateusz Nowak (The National Team of Poland U-23) – 14 points.
3. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 13 points.

12. Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 5 points.

The scratch classification of the prologue

1. Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – the leader of the race


The ‘most active rider’ jersey was won by Sergiej Papok (The National Team of Belarus), while the best climber jersey went to Andrzej Bartkiewicz (Wibatech LMGK Ziemia Brzeska). The best young rider was Michał Kadrzyński (U-23 National Team) and CCC Polsat Polkowice became the best team.

Grzegorz Stępniak’s finish at the prologue of Dookoła Mazowsza.


The podium of the winners of the individual classification: from the right Bartłomiej
Matysiak (3rd place), Sylwester Janiszewski – the winner of the prologue, Mateusz Nowak (2nd place)


Grzegorz Stępniak – the leader of the race on the podium



Tomorrow, on Wednesday 25 June the riders will start for stage 1 which will be held along the roads around Modlin. There will be a course of the total length of 180 kilometres to ride.