Jarosław Marycz: nobody expected that “local” win the stage

The winner of the 5th stage of Tour de San Luis was Argentinean Emmanuel Guevara (San Luis Somos Todos). Michal Kwiatkowski (Omega Pharma – Quick Step) lost his leader’s jersey in general classification.

During Friday’s stage cyclists had to deal with a route length of 170 km that led from Juan Koslay to La Carolina. Most spinning stage (140 km) route ran on the flat route in the last kilometer was very difficult up-hill with finish in La Carolina. At the up-hill were sections with slope 10%.The fifth stage of the competition were dominated by: Emanuele Guevara (San Luis Somos Todos) and Martin Hacecky (ASC Dukla Praha). Going alone gained an advantage of up to nearly 15 minutes. In the last kilometer route, Guevara decided to attack alone, leaving a companion. He passed the finish line in La Carolina alone.

The race reports Jaroslaw Marycz:

Today’s stage is the only one, let’s call it “quiet” stage. Quite nervous from the start, because the wind was blowing hard every day and it was the fear of splitting the peloton. Nothing came of it, at the beginning two cyclists attacked. Their advantage reached up to 15 min. Peloton rode quietly, and when the finish line was getting closer, began preparations for the liquidation of escape. At the end there was a fairly long up-hill. Overclocked decent pace and there was a specific selection. No one probably expected that “local” cyclists will be the best. What a surprise, they are in high season and we just start it.

It is a pity that Michał did not keep the race leader’s jersey.

On Saturday, in front of us the hardest stage, deciding on the general classification.

New leader of the race was the second at the finish, Guevarry club mate, Dani DiazMichal Kwiatkowski came to run for 22 place and lost to the winner of almost 4 minutes. In the general classification takes 9th place.
Highest place from CCC Polsat Polkowice team was Bartlomiej Matysiak who passed the finish line in 99 position, losing more than 20 minutes to the winner. Other CCC cyclists came in the same group.