Jeżowski 3rd at the finishing line in Szydłowiec

Sebastian Forke (Nutrixxon Sparkase), after a finish from the peloton, won stage 2 of the 53rd Dookoła Mazowsza race. It is already the second stage win of this German sprint cyclist. The second racer at the finishing line in Szydłowiec was also a German, Henning Bommel (LKT-Team Branderburg), and Krzysztof Jeżowski (CCC Polsat Polkowice), last year’s Champion of Poland crossed the finishing line as third.

During stage 2 of the race the cyclists had a route of 162 kilometres to cover, leading from Zwoleń to Szydłowiec. And like on the first day, the contestants fought for bonus seconds at two intermediate sprints, also they won points at a climb at 18 kilometres of the lap around Szydłowiec, which the cyclists had to do as many as six times.

The first part of the stage, until the moment of entering the laps, went on quite calmly. The peloton got a bit livelier while approaching the intermediate sprints and they fought for the bonus seconds. Most of the attacks and attempts to break away started while the peloton was doing the lap around Szydłowiec. One of such attacks ended up with a break-away of 16 cyclists, who quite soon got one minute of advantage over the peloton. It did not last too long, as the team of Nutrixxion got down to work, effectively eliminating the break-away. The finishing line in Szydłowiec was crossed by the whole peloton and the sprint cyclists started fighting for the stage win. Another victory was achieved by Sebastian Forke (Nutrixxon Sparkase who outstripped Henning Bommel and Krzysztof Jeżowski.

In the general classification the leading is still held by the stage winner Forke, who is by 8 seconds better than Bommel, and by 9 seconds better than Tomasz Lisowicz.

In the classification of the most active the leading is held by Tomasz Lisowicz (CCC Polsat), the best climber after stage two is Andzs Flaksis (Team Rietumu Delf).

Stage 2 – Zwoleń – Szydłowiec, 161.9km:

1. Sebastian Forke (Ger) Team Nutrixxion – Sparkasse 4:10:27
2. Henning Bommel (Ger) LKT-Team-Brandenburg
3. Krzysztof Jeżowski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice

27. Tomasz Lisowicz
33. Tomasz Smoleń
48. Jarosław Rębiewski
54. Tomasz Kiendyś
77. Tomasz Marczyński
85. Łukasz Bodnar
88. Bartłomiej Matysiak

General classification after stage 2:

1. Sebastian Forke (Ger) Team Nutrixxion – Sparkasse 4:01:36
2. Henning Bommel (Ger) LKT-Team-Brandenburg 00:08
3. Tomasz Lisowicz (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice 00:09

6. Krzysztof Jeżowski 00:16