Korona Miast: Bodnar stands a chance of winning

After the final events in Pro-League as early as on Sunday we will know the winner of the BDC Korona Miast cycle. There are three races to be held left: on Friday the GP Villa Natura Dolsk – Borek Wielkopolski classic cycle race and two Saturday criteriums in Leszno, as well as in Borek Wielkopolski on Sunday. The present leader of the BDC Korona Miast cycle is Łukasz Bodnar from the group of CCC Polsat Polkowice.

BDC Korona Miast is, besides the Pro-League, a special scoring system for one-day-long races not included in the calendar of the events of UCI. It consists of five events: four criteriums in Chrząstawa Mała, Gdańsk, Leszno and Borek Wielkopolski as well as the classic cycle race GP Villa Natura Dolsk – Borek Wielkopolski. After the first two criteriums the leader of the BDC Korona Miast cycle is Łukasz Bodnar. The racer of CCC Polsat Polkowice won both races and with a full set of points he is leading before the cyclists of Mróz Active Jet Paweł Cieślik and Błażej Janiaczyk.

The first of the races to finish the competition will be held on Friday. Then, the classic race of GP Villa Natura Dolsk – Borek Wielkopolski, moved from July, will be held. The race, called by some the Polish Paris-Roubaix, includes two characteristic, demanding cobbled-road stretches. The competition will be held along the distance of 163 km, and apart from the general classification and the U23 classification the cyclists will also compete in the classification of the most active. The winner of the first edition Tomasz Lisowicz from CCC Polsat Polkowice will ride with number one. The results of the classic race may be much relevant for the final classification of BDC Korona Miast, because its winner will be awarded 30 points, whereas the winner of both criteriums may score 20 points for each race.

The winner of the BDC Korona Miast will be known after the two criteriums. On Saturday there will be the All-Poland Road Cycling Criterium for the President of Leszno Cup, and a day later the All-Poland Criterium for the Mayor of Borek Wielkopolski Cup. Both races will be held according to similar rules. The competition will take place on a lap of 1800 metres, which will be passed by the cyclists 40 times. The total distance of 72 km will award points every fifth lap, and for the final lap a double value of points may be won. During the weekend races, at 1.20 p.m. there will be the presentation of the contestants, and the cyclists will set off twenty minutes later. The award ceremony for the general classification will take place right after the race in Borek Wielkopolski.

The BDC Korona Miast classification after 2 races:

1 Łukasz Bodnar (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 40
2 Paweł Cieślik (Mróz Active Jet) 23
3 Błażej Janiaczyk (Mróz Active Jet) 15
4 Marcin Urbanowski (DHL Author) 12
5 Sylwester Janiszewski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 12
6 Dariusz Rudnicki (Aktio Group Mostostal Puławy) 10
7 Mariusz Wiesiak (Team Nippo) 10
8 Marek Cichosz (Legia Felt) 8
9 Krzysztof Jeżowski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 6
10 Wojciech Kaczmarski (Legia Felt) 6
11 Tomasz Smoleń (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 4
12 Wojciech Skarżyński Warmińsko-Mazurski KS 4
13 Jakub Komar (Legia Felt) 3
14 Tomasz Lisowicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 2
15 Paweł Poljański (Kellys Cartusia Kartuzy) 2
16 Radosław Romanik (DHL Author) 1
17 Piotr Krajewski (Mróz Active Jet) 1