Le Samyn: Boeckmans with the victory

Kris Boeckmans (Lotto Soudal) took the win in the Belgian cobble race, Le Samyn. Tomasz Kiendyś was the only CCC Sprandi Polkowice rider who arrived to the finish line.

The last out of three Belgian cobblestone races for CCC Sprandi Polkowice began with a strong pace. After covering 40 kilometers nobody was able to break away. Ludwig De Winter (Wallonie),Gatis Smukulis (Katusha) and Thomas De Gent (Lotto Soudal) were the first to ones to create a gap. The trio established almost 8 minute lead.

With around 65km to go the break started to fall apart. De Gendt attacked solo, and later on Smukulis dropped De Winter. Every rider in the front was riding alone. The bunch got divided into two parts and CCC Sprandi Polkowice runners didn’t manage to stay in the one with the big favorites.

The escapees were getting caught one after another. The last one who was brought back in was De Gendt, with 21 km to go. Despite numerous attacks from the group the last cobblestone section turned out to be decisive.

This is when 8 riders slipped away. Kris Boeckmans (Lotto Soudal) was the fastest from that group and took the win. He bested Gianni Meersman (Etixx – Quick Step) and Christophe Laporte (Cofidis). Tomasz Kiendyś finished in 84th place.

Results of Le Samyn, 201 km

1. Kris Boeckmans (Lotto Soudal)

2. Gianni Meersman (Etixx – Quick Step)

3. Christophe Laporte (Cofidis).

84. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

DNF Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

DNF Mateusz Taciak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

DNF Jarosław Marycz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

DNF Nikolay Mihaylov (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

DNF Adrian Kurek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

DNF Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)