Marek Rutkiewicz returns to the position of the leader of BGŻ ProLiga.

Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice), after winning the race of Szlakiem Grodów Piastowskich, returned to the first place of the general classification of the BGŻ ProLiga cycle.

On Sunday Marek Rutkiewicz defended the jersey of the leader of the Szlakiem Grodów Piastowskich race and at the same time the took the leading in the classification of BGŻ Proliga. The CCC Polsat Polkowice rider regained the first place in ProLiga, because he was leading it for one month after winning Ślężański Mnich in Sobótka.

Marek Rutkiewicz maintained the golden jersey of the leader of Grody, and during the award ceremony he also received the yellow jersey of the BGŻ ProLiga leader. After three events of the cycle the rider has a big advantage over his rivals, because Szlakiem Grodów Piastowskich was highly scored, both for the leading places in stages and for the general classification.

Ahead of the leading Polish riders there are only several days of rest, because as soon as 9 May they are meeting in Kraków, where the criterium for the Golden Ring of that city starts the Małopolski Wyścig Górski, also belonging to the classification of BGŻ ProLiga.

BGŻ ProLiga is a form of rivalry of Polish riders lasting for the whole season. In the prestigious cycle the points are awarded for the most important national races, of which there are as many as fifteen in the calendar this year. In the previous season the winner was Łukasz Bodnar (today Bank BGŻ), racing then in the colours of CCC Polsat Polkowice.


The ceremony of decorating Marek Rutkiewicz with the jersey of the  BGŻ ProLiga leader.


The general classification of BGŻ ProLiga 2012 after Grody Piastowskie.

1. Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice)     – 180
2. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 75
3. Łukasz Bodnar (BGŻ Team) – 50
4. Tomasz Smoleń (BGŻ Team) – 45
5. Adam Wadecki (BDC MarcPol) – 35
6. Robert Radosz (BDC MarcPol) – 30
Andrzej Bartkiewicz (Wibatech Ziemia Brzeska) – 30
8. Błażej Janiaczyk (BGŻ Team) –  28
9. Sylwester Janiszewski (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 25
    Dariusz Batek (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 25
11. Kowalczyk Jarosław (BDC MarcPol) – 20
12. Mariusz Witecki (BGŻ Team) – 16
13. Łukasz Owsian (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 15
Mariusz Wiesiak (Matrix Powertag) – 15
15. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 13
16. Piotr Gawroński (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 7
Rafał Klepacki (KLTC Konin) – 7
18. Łukasz Osiecki(Wibatech Ziemia Brzeska) – 5
19. Mieszko Bulik (TC Chrobry Głogów) – 3
20. Michał Czerkies (KS Pogoń Mostostal) – 1
21. Damian Walczak (BDC Team) – 1