Marek Rutkiewicz the winner of Szlakiem Bursztynowym.

The last stage of the Szlakiem Bursztynowym – Hellena Tour race was won by Alois Kankovsky (ASC Dukla Praha) ahead of Grzegorz Stępniak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) Konrad Dąbkowski (BDC MarcPol). Marek Rutkiewicz became the winner of the general classification of the race.

During the last day of the race the contestants had a distance of 129 kilometres to ride, a stretch from Wieluń to Kalisz. It was not a difficult distance to ride, although the weather was not favourable to the riders. It was quite cold, it was rained and at times the wind was blowing strongly. A high activity was visible during that stage on the part of the BDC riders, who tried to shatter the peloton and trigger changes in the classification of the race. On the other hand, the CCC Polsat Polkowice riders, defending their leader’s position, rode very actively maintaining their cyclists’ vigilance, getting involved in all the actions in the peloton.

Quite strong wind and the BDC’s high activity helped to divide the peloton into smaller groups at last, although when the cyclists were riding into Kalisz there was already quite big a group of riders with the leader at the head of the peloton.
In the final metres, again well-positioned Grzegorz Stępniak tried to use the finish to his advantage again. Unfortynately, this time he had to accept superiority of the Dukli Praga rider, Martin Hacecky, who became the winner of the last, 4th stage. The third one to finish was the rider of BDC, Konrad Dąbkowski.

In the general classification the winner was Marek Rutkiewicz (CCC Polsat Polkowice). This has been the fourth victory of that CCC rider in this cycling season. Earlier Marek Rutkiewicz won the race opening the cycling season in Poland – Ślężański Mnich, and he took over the leading in BGŻ ProLiga. Winning the general classification of the Circuit des Ardennes race is very important, too.

In the second place of the general classification of the race there is another rider of CCC Polsat Polkowice – Grzegorz Stępniak. Grzegorz’s excellent performance during the whole race, especially his great sprinter’s abilities, reflected in two stage wins and the second place of the last stage, might show that another sprint talent is emerging.

In the combativity classification the winner is Sylwester Janiszewski, and in the points classification – Grzegorz Stępniak.

The team of CCC Polsat Polkowice became the best team of the race.


The results of stage 4 of the race, Wieluń – Kalisz, 129 km,

1. Kankovsky Alois (ACS Dukla Praga) 2:54:06
2. Stępniak Grzegorz (CCC Polsat Polkowice)
3. Dąbkowski Konrad (BDC MarcPol)

5. Rutkiewicz Marek
16. Taciak Mateusz
19. Kiendyś Tomasz
22. Zieliński Tomasz
27. Matysiak Bartłomiej
28. Janiszewski Sylwester
31. Charucki Paweł 0:37
46. Honkisz Adrian
63. Mihaylov Nikolay 1:56


The final classification of the race

1. Rutkiewicz Marek (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 9:28:45
2. Stępniak Grzegorz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 0:19
3. Nowak Mateusz (KTK Kalisz) 0:22
4. Taciak Mateusz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 0:35

8. Matysiak Bartłomiej 0:52
9. Kiendyś Tomasz 1:05
28. Janiszewski Sylwester 1:56
29. Zieliński Kamil 1:59
32. Honkisz Adrian 2:13
33. Charucki Paweł 2:22
39. Mihaylov Nikolay 3:18