Mateusz Taciak – the winner of the Dookoła Mazowsza race

Mateusz Taciak from the team of CCC Polsat Polkowice became the winner of the 55th International Cycling Race „Dookoła Mazowsza”. The individual time trial, the last stage of the race, was won by Vitaliy Popkov from ISD Lampre.

The individual time trial in Szydłowiec was the final element of the riders’ competition during the Dookoła Mazowsza race. The riders had a distance of almost 20 kilometres to ride, which was a bit up-the-hill and upwind to the turning point, while the way back was covered at the speed of over 50 km/h. The average speed of the leader was 46,73 km/h. A serious impairment was the scorching sun and the exceptionally high temperature reaching 35 degrees Celsius.

The fight for the ultimate victory in the race was held among a group of 20 riders, who during stage 1 of the race gained a lead of 11 minutes over the peloton. In that group there were a lot of good riders specializing in individual time trials. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) turned out to be the best of them, completing the time trial in the third position, securing for himself winning the general classification of the race.

Vitaliy Popkov from the team of ISD Lampre became the winner of the individual time trial, covering the course of the trial, 19.6 km long, at 25 minutes 10 seconds. By 5 seconds he was better than the second at the finishing line rider of the U-23 National Team of Poland, Mateusz Nowak and by 9 seconds Mateusz Taciak (CCC Polsat Polkowice).


Mateusz Taciak on the course of the time trial.

A very good, fourth time, was achieved by another rider of the CCC Polsat Polkowice team, the current champion of Bulgaria in individual time trial, Nikolay Mihaylov, who thus advanced into the third place of the general classification of the race.

The podium of the time trial: Nowak (2nd place), Popkov (1st place) and Taciak (3rd place)


The results of the fourth stage of the Dookoła Mazowsza race (Szydłowiec, 24 km as a time trial):

1. Witalij Popkov (Ukraine – Lampre Continental) – 25:10
2. Mateusz Nowak (the National Team of Poland) – 0:05
3. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 0:09
4. Nikolay Mihaylov (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 0:14

7. Marek Rutkiewicz – 0:19
10. Tomasz Kiendyś – 0:23
20. Grzegorz Stepniak – 0:59
24. Piotr Gawroński – 1:19
30. Sylwester Janiszewski – 1:37
63. Bartłomiej Matysiak – 3:26


The podium of the winners of the race: Nowak (2nd place), Taciak (the winner), Mihaylov (3rd place)


The final classification of the race:

1. Mateusz Taciak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 12:47:54
2. Mateusz Nowak (the National Team of Poland) – 0:08
3. Nikolay Mihaylov (CCC Polsat Polkowice) – 0:23

5. Tomasz Kiendyś – 0:32
13. Sylwester Janiszewski – 1:46
26. Grzegorz Stępniak – 11:53
30. Marek Rutkiewicz – 12:18
40. Piotr Gawroński – 13:21
51. Bartłomiej Matysiak -13:59