Mazovia Tou: Marycz wins the final GC!

Jaroslaw Marycz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) protected his lead in the general classification of Lotto Mazovia Tour and claimed the win in 57. edition of this stage race. Eryk Laton (BDC MarcPol) took the victory on the final day.

The last stage was a reverse version of stage 5, and it ran from Lomza to Nowy
Dwor Mazowiecki. The riders had the cover 184 kilometers.

There was no major hills on the way and the biggest obstacle was the heat – almost 33 degrees. The most possible scenario was a bunch sprint. Jaroslaw Rebiewski (Mexller), Blazej Janiaczyk (BDC MarcPol), Sjors Roosen (Cycling Team Jo Piels) and Sebastian Anaya (Tusnad Cycling Team) didn’t want that to let that happen and attacked. They broke clear after a series of attacks from other riders.

Unfortunatly for them the power of the bunch led by CCC Polsat Polkowice was too strong. The brave four was reeled in with 21k to go. Despite few attempts to take off in the last kilometers nobody was able to get away.

The race ended according to the excepted scenario. Sprinters played the most important roles in the final. The one who was the fastest was Eryk Laton (BDC MarcPol). He outsprinted former stage winners – Alex Rasmussen (Riwals Cycling Team) and Maurits Lammertink (Jo Piels). Jaroslaw Marycz was 5th and took the overall. Laton and Lammertink stood next to him on the podium.


Results of stage 6, Lomza – Nowy Dwor Mazowiecki (184 km):

1. Eryk Laton (BDC MarcPol) 3:48:14

2. Alex Rasmussen (Riwal)

3. Maurits Lammertink (Cycling Team Jo Piels)

5. Jarosław Marycz

19. Adrian Kurek 0:06

20. Tomasz Kiendys

30. Piotr Gawroński 0:14

31. Nikolay Mihaylov

66. Jacek Morajko 1:01


Final general classification:

1. Jaroslaw Marycz (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 18:28:31

2. Eryk Laton (BDC MarcPol) 00:04

3. Maurits Lammertink (Cycling Team Jo Piels) 00:12

7. Tomasz Kiendys 00:35

6. Adrian Kurek

14. Nikolay Mihaylov 01:04

23. Piotr Gawronski 01:21

29. Jacek Morajko 01:57