Mendes’ 28th place in the classic race Tre Valli Varesine.

Davide Rebellin (Miche-Guerciotti) became the winner of the Italian classic cycle race Tre Valli Varesine of the UCI 1HC category. At the finishing line in Campione d’Italia he beat his compatriot from the team of Colnago – CSF Inox, Domenico Pozzovivo and the French rider Thibaut Pinot from the FDJ team. Jose Mendes took the 28th place.

At the starting line of the race whose length was 199 kilometres the lead of the Italian professional teams stood, and among them Ivan Basso, Vincenzo Nibali, Danilo Di Luca, Damiano Cunego, Petre Sagan and a lot of other prominent cyclists. The team of CCC Polsat Polkowice entered the race with the following composition: Jose Mendes, Adrian Honkisz, Sylwester Janiszewski, Paweł Charucki, Dariusz Batek and Tomasz Smoleń.

During the whole race the team of Liquigas-Cannondale kept control of the competition, consistently eliminating all breakaways and trying to lead their leader, Peter Sagan to the victory in that race.

Among others Ivan Basso and Vincenzo Nibali worked for Peter Sagan until the final uphill stretch, Nibali imposing breakneck pace. Peter Sagan did not keep up with that pace, and that was taken advantage of by Davide Rebellin, who right before the finishing line jumped away from the already much torn group, and with an advantage of 4 seconds he crossed the finishing line as the first one, beating Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago – CSF Inox). In the third place at the finishing line there was the Frenchman from FDJ, Thibaut Pinot.

The highest ranked out of the cyclists of CCC Polsat Polkowice was Jose Mendes, who completed the race in the 28th place. In the 80th place, 4:23 minutes behind the winner the finishing line was crossed by Dariusz Batek. Other ‘orange’ cyclists did not complete the competition.


The results of the race:

1. Davide Rebellin (Ita) Miche – Guerciotti 4:41:30
2. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago – CSF Inox 0:00:04
3. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:00:07

28. José Mendes (Por) CCC Polsat Polkowice 0:01:04
80. Dariusz Batek (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice 0:04:23