Milano-Sanremo: Kurek in the breakaway, Bole and Paterski finished strong

Two CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders – Grega Bole and Maciej Paterski – arrived at the finish in Sanremo in Top 25. They showed great performance on the last climb, Poggio, which was situated close from the finish line and where they led the peloton. Adrian Kurek also made his presence known by getting into the breakaway of the day, which covered almost 250km in the front.

Milano-Sanremo is considered one of the hardest races in the world and it actually is. Long distance, and the weather, which was a factor today in the first part of racing, made things very hard. The plan was for me and Grega Bole to stay in the main group as long as possible and we were able to do that, be riding in the front when the selection was being made. Our teammates did a great job in protecting us throughout the entire day. There was no part of the race where I would be by myself – Maciej Paterski said afterwards.

When we were on the Poggio and nobody managed to break clear from the bunch, we were expecting a sprint from larger group. We decided that I will work for Bole, who is faster rider than me. Unfortunately in the finale we were not as powerful as our rivals, but we can be satisfied with our performance. Adrian Kurek was also in the breakaway of the day and our orange colors were being shown throughout the entire competition.

Tomorrow I will start in Volta Ciclista a Catalunya, but I don’t feel extremely tired and I should be ready. I had some good rest after Ruta del Sol, I recovered well and did some solid training. We are driving to Nice now, from which we’re taking a plane to Catalunya.


It was a historic day for the CCC Sprandi Polkowice. It was for the first time that the Polish team had the opportunity to race in the legendary Milano-Sanremo. The entire 8-man squad showed up at the start line motivated and ready for 293km of racing, from capital of Lombardy to the city on the Mediterranean coast of western Liguria. Cold and rainy weather welcomed the riders, but the forecast was more optimistic for the finale.

Adrian Kurek made an early move and joined the 11-man breakaway, which broke clear soon after the start. He was riding in the front alongside Jan Barta (Bora-Argon 18), Sebastian Molano (Colombia), Maarten Tjallingii (LottoNL-Jumbo) Andrea Peron (Novo Nordisk), Stefano Pirazzi (CSF Bardiani), Matteo Bono (Lampre-Merida), Serge Pauwels (MTN-Qhubeka), Julien Berard (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Tiziano Dall’Antonia (Androni Giocattoli) and Marco Frapporti (Androni Giocattoli).

The group quickly increased their advantage to almost 11 minutes. It was falling down regularly and when it dropped to over one minute, 40km from the line, few riders in the leading group decided to push harder. Kurek was not able to keep up the pace and fell back.

When the riders began to tackle Cipressa it was already sunny and dry. Before the bottom of the climb Kurek got caught and new attacks kept coming. Nobody was able to build any advantage and the big group hit the top. Grega Bole and Maciej Paterski were both present in it and on the last climb, Poggio, they moved up to the front of the reduced peloton. There were no significant gaps created on that hill either. When the riders were descending few pre-race favorites crashed. Philippe Gilbert, Gerald Ciolek, Zdenek Stybar and the Polish world champion, Michał Kwiatkowski lost their chances for the good result.

The race ended the way it usually ends on Via Roma, which is a sprint from a larger group. This time it was John Degenkolb (Team Giant – Alpecin ) who was the strongest, besting Alexander Kristoff (Team Katusha) and Michael Matthews (Orica GreenEDGE). Bole and Paterski both finished in Top 25 – 16th and 22nd respectively.

Milano-Sanremo, 293km

1. John Degenkolb (Team Giant – Alpecin )

2. Alexander Kristoff (Team Katusha)

3. Michael Matthews (Orica GreenEDGE)

16. Grega Bole (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

22. Maciej Paterski (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

87. Branislau Samoilau (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 4:59

88. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

134. Adrian Kurek (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 11:37

142. Christian Delle Stelle (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 14:58

150. Jarosław Marycz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

153. Tomasz Kiendyś (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)