Nokere-Koerse: Steegmans wins, Janiszewski 24th.

Gert Steegmans from the team of Quick Step won the 66th edition of the Belgian classic cycle race Nokere-Koerse, beating in a sprinters’ duel Stefan Van Dijk (Veranda Willems Accent) and Graeme Brown from the team of Rabobank. In the 24th position Sylwester Janiszewski crossed the finishing line.
The course of the struggle along the almost 200 kilometers long route of the classic race was dominated by four cyclists: Michael Van Staeyen (Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator), Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Quick Step), Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ) and Kenny Dehaes (Omega Pharma-Lotto) who rode most of the route in a break-away group. The peloton carefully controlled the course of the struggle on the route of the race, not allowing the breakaways to gain too big an advantage, that was at times only slightly over 2 minutes. 20 kilometers before the finishing line, at a considerable co-operation of most of the teams, the break-away of the four cyclists was eliminated. The closer to the finishing line, the more attempts there were in the peloton to break away. In one of them there was Kenny Dehaes from Omega Pharma-Lotto again, with three other cyclists. The pursuit by cyclists of the Katusha team quickly eliminated the break-away, and 7 kilometers before the finishing line the whole peloton was riding together.
Right before the finishing line the teams of Rabobank, Quick Step and Omega Pharma-Lotto started to work hard, leading out their sprint cyclists. Gert Steegmans, led to a good positions, did not give any chances to his rivals and he crossed the finishing line first. He beat Stefan Van Dijk and Graeme Brown. In the good, 24th position a cyclist of CCC Polsat Polkowice, Sylwester Janiszewski finished the race.

The other cyclists of the team of CCC Polsat Polkowice were really unlucky, being eliminated from the fight for good places by numerous defects, of which there where a lot along the route. Among others the sprint cyclists Andre Schulze and Tomasz Smoleń had to withdraw from the race.

The results of the classic race of Nokere-Koerse (the UCI 1.1 category), 195.9 km

1. Gert Steegmans (Bel) Quick Step
2. Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Team Willems Accent
3. Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank

24. Sylwester Janiszewski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
87. Bartłomiej Matysiak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
100. Tomasz Kiendyś (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice