“Orange team” back in Catalunya

Right after Milano-Sanremo, CCC Sprandi Polkowice will take on another UCI World Tour event, Volta Ciclista a Catalunya. It will be the third time that the “orange squad” participates in Catalonia after 2011 and 2014 editions.

Last year we very active and we made our presence known on the stages, with Maciej Paterski finishing 4th and Marek Rutkiewicz 5th. This year we also want to present our colors well and our goal is to be remembered by our aggressive racingPiotr Wadecki, sport director of the team said.

Sylwester Szmyd proved in Andalucia that he is still one of the best climbers in the peloton and he wants to see again where does he stands in terms of form comparing to the top riders in the world. Hard terrain should be a perfect place for that – he added.

Two riders from the Milano-Sanremo roster will travel to Spain – Branislau Samoliau and Maciej Paterski. The lineup will be rounded out by Jan Hirt, Adrian Honkisz, Marek Rutkiewicz, Josef Cerny and Stefan Schumacher, who all feel comfortable on the hilly course. For Schumacher it will be return to racing after suffering the wrist injury in Ruta del Sol. The German went through successful surgery and is getting back into the racing rhythm.

Volta Ciclista a Catalunya is a 7-day stage race. Riders such as Alberto Contador, Alejandro Valverde and Christopher Froome are all expected at the start. Most of the stages are held in the tough, mountainous area and stage 5 looks to be the hardest. It ends with an ascent which climbs up to La Molina, a ski resort and it also features the only HC category climb (20km, 5,2%) in the race – Colle de la Creueta.

Program of Volta Ciclista a Catalunya:

Stage 1 – 23.03 – Calella – Calella 191.1 km

Stage 2– 24.03 – Mataró – Olot 195.5 km

Stage 3– 25.03 – Girona – Girona 159.6 km

Stage 4– 26.03 – Tona – La Molina 191.0 km

Stage 5– 27.03 – Alp – Valls 197.0 km

Stage 6– 28.03 – Cervera – Port Aventura 197.7 km

Stage 7– 29.03 – Barcelona – Barcelona 123.5 km

Lineup for Volta Ciclista a Catalunya: Sylwester Szmyd, Jan Hirt, Adrian Honkisz, Branislau Samoilau, Maciej Paterski, Stefan Schumacher, Josef Cerny, Marek Rutkiewicz. Reserve: Bartłomiej Matysiak