Paterski 32nd Coppa Bernocchi

Maciej Paterski tried a late attack in Coppa Bernocchi, but was unable to repeat yesterday’s result of Davide Rebellin. He finished 32 and Vincenzo Nibal took the win. 

Michał Paluta and Jakub Kaczmarek were involved in one of the early breakaway attempts, but they were both reeled in. The peloton was not eager to let anyone go away in the first hour of racing and the escape was formed at around 55 kilometer mark. Edward Ravasi (Lampre – Merida), Serghei Tvetcov, Emanuele Sella (both Androni – Sidermec) and Frederic Brun (Bretagne – Seche) made the leading group and gained over 4 minutes of advantage. At the beginning of their journey in the front, they were chased by Jorge Castiblanco (Colombia) and Alessandro Mariani (Team Idea), but eventually the duo had to return to the bunch.

Just like in yesterday’s Coppa Agostoni, the peloton started reducing gap early. With 50 kilometers remaining the lead dropped under one minute and Emanuel Buchmann (Bora – Argon 18) tried to bridge across. At that point Wanty – Groupe and Caja Rural – Seguros RGA were setting the pace in the main group.

With 43 kilometers real action began. Maciej Paterski attacked with Vincenzo Nibali  and Paolo Tiralongo (both Astana). Later Sonny Colbrelli (Bardiani – CSF), Kristian Sbaragli (MTN – Qhubeka) and Enrico Gasparotto (Wanty – Groupe Gobert) pulled away. Unfortunately CCC Sprandi Polkowice rider was unable to stay with attackers and came back to the bunch.

After reshuffle in the front a 5-man group with Nibali, Matteo Trentin (Italy), Gianfranco Zilioli (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec), Jose Mendes (Bora-Argon 18), Mauro Finetto (Southeast) and Carlos Quintero (Colombia) was established. They had 30 seconds over the chasers and it was enough to survive until the finish.

In the very finale Nibali put the hammer down and took the win. He bested Finetto and Trentin, while Paterski finished 32nd – best among the “riders in orange”.