Paterski 6th in Vuelta a Murcia

Maciej Paterski again put up a good performance and took 6th in a Spanish one-day event Vuelta Cyclista a Murcia

-There was one long climb on the route, divided into two, with a flat part in between. I felt good on it and I managed to keep up with the favorites’ group. On the final 2,5km hill, which lead to the finish, many riders attacked and I tried to fallow everyone. That might have cost me a podium spot, but I had to try because I felt strong. Nevertheless I can be satisfied with my 6th place, claimed in such a hard race with so many top level riders – Maciej Paterski said afterwards.

As I said few weeks ago, I’ve never felt better at this time of the year. I hope that I will be able to maintain good form until the most important races.

12 riders broke clear right after the start. There was no “riders in orange” in the breakaway, so the Polkowice-based team, together with Trek Factory Racing began the chase. When the escapees were very close, two of them – Garikoitz Bravo (Murias Taldea) and Victor Martin (Burgos-BH) – pushed harder and created a gap.

The peleton slowed down and the leading duo established a 10 minute lead. The gap was bridged with 50km to go, on the cat. 1 climb to Collado Bermejo, which honored Marco Pantani, who died exactly 11 years ago.

The bunch stretched out drastically on the ascent and two CCC Sprandi Polkowice riders – Maciej Paterski and Branislau Samoilau – managed to stay in the front group. Rein Taaramae (Astana) didn’t want to wait until the final hill and attacked. He built up a solid, 2-minute advantage.

He maintained his lead all the way to the finish and took the victory. Maciej Paterski arrived to the line among the biggest names and was 6th. By his performance he proved again his great form at the beginning of the year.

Bauke Mollema (Trek Factory Racing) and Zdenek Stybar (Etixx-Quick Step) claimed remaining places on the podium.

Results of Vuelta Ciclista a Murcia, 198km:

1. Rein Taaramae (Astana)

2. Bauke Mollema (Trek Factory Racing)

3. Zdenek Stybar (Etixx-Quick Step)

6. Maciej Paterski (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 0:10

35. Branislau Samoilau (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 1:35

49. Łukasz Owsian (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 9:34

64. Grega Bole (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 10:50

65. Adrian Honkisz (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

66. Jan Hirt (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)

83. Leszek Pluciński (CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 15:02