Peter Sagan won “Brabancką Strzałę”

Peter Sagan (Cannondale) in the sprint duel beat Philippe Gilbert (BMC) and was the winner of the Belgian one-day, De Brabantse Pijl – La Flèche Brabançonne (Cat. 1HC).

During the 53 edition of the “Brabankiej Strzały” cyclists struggled with almost 200 kilometer route with lots of stiff climbs, where the slope route reached sometimes up to 10%. A major obstacle was the cobbled sections, where on the track was a dozen.

Race from the start began very rapidly. There have been numerous offensives which after driving 50 km route formed a six-flight cyclists rode in which Nikolas Maes (Omega Pharma-Quick Step), Kenny Dehaes (Lotto-Belisol), Jan Ghyselinck (Cofidis), Ben Hermans (RadioShack- Leopard), Youcef Reguigui (Team MTN-Qhubeka) and Philippe Deignan (UnitedHealthcare). Escape received quite a significant advantage, which was up more than 4 minutes, unfortunately it did not have much chance of success to get to the finish line. The peloton closely “watched” the refugees and when the finish line kilometers remained less significant reshuffle began in the peloton. At the head there was a group of 11 riders and among them all potential challengers to fight for victory in the race. The back left only Thomas Voeckler (Europcar), last year’s winner of the race that had technical problems with the bike.

When the finish line remained less kilometers, the group began running away numerous jumps, but none of the riders could not leave. On the run, fleeing reunites the entire group and the most effective striking finish Slovak Peter Sagan (Cannondale), who in direct combat defeated sprint champion Philippe Gilbert (BMC). Third, the four-second loss to the winner, the finish line was Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil-DCM).

Highest placed rider CCC Polsat Polkowice was Luke Owsian, who arrived at the finish line in 54th spot with a loss of 1 min. 16 seconds.