Poor performance of CCC at the Gippingen classic cycle race

On Sunday 6 June this year Kristof Vandewalle from the team of Topsport Vlaanderen won the classic cycle race of GP Kanton Aargau-Gippingen (cat.: 1.HC). In a sprinters’ duel he beat at the finish line Emanuele Sella (Carmiooro-NGC) and Heinricha Hausslera (Cervelo TestTeam).

The CCC Polsat Polkowice team took part in the Gippingen classic race with the following line-up: Tomasz Marczyński, Bartłomiej Matysiak, Tomasz Kiendyś, Adrian Honkisz, Tomasz Repiński, Adam Sznitko and Sylwester Janiszewski. The highest ranked cyclist from the CCC team was Tomasz Marczyński, who crossed the finish line as 34th, over 8 minutes adrift of the winner.

The very difficult route of the race, with numerous uphill stretches was almost 194 km long. The peleton was riding together for a long time, although during each climb it was split. During one of them six cyclists broke away: Kristof Vandewalle (Topsport Vlaanderen), Nicolas Roche (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil), Paolo Bailetti (Ceramica Flaminia), Heinrich Haussler (Cervelo Test Team) and Emanuel Sella (Carmiooro -NGC). The advantage of the breakaway group was constantly increasing, which let them reach the finish line and the winner of the race emerged out of this group.

Matthias Russ (Milram) was seventh at the finish line, 26 seconds adrift of Vandewalle. The peleton reached the finish line only after 8 minutes. Within it there was Tomasz Marczyński (CCC Polsat Polkowice), who took the 38th place. His teammates took further places: Bartłomiej Matysiak was 45th and Adrian Honkisz in the 46th place.

The results of GP Kanton Aargau – Gippingen, 193,6 km

1. Kristof Vandewalle (Bel) (Topsport Vlaanderen) 4:52:54
2. Emanuele Sella (Ita) Carmiooro-NGC
3. Heinrich Haussler (Ger) Cervelo TestTeam

34. Tomasz Marczyński (CCC Polsat Polkowice) 0:08:05
45. Bartłomiej Matysiak (CCC Polsat Polkowice)
46. Adrian Honkisz (CCC Polsat Polkowice)