Porec Trophy: Again 5th for Matysiak

Despite an injury suffered at the beginning of the season, Bartlomiej Matysiak is in solid form and he’s proved that he is able to finish in the top 5 after a bunch sprint. He was 5th in Porec Trophy, repeating his result from Umag Trophy, which was held three days before.

Short distance – around 145 kilometers – made the race fast and forced the peloton to control the situation throughout the entire day. The only breakaway that established some stable lead was a 12-man group (with no riders from CCC Sprandi Polkowice) which was formed in the first part of racing. The gap was at one minute for some time and was reduced to none on the fourth lap (out of seven).

After that few riders tried to attack, but those attempts were not successful – Tomasz Brozyna, sport director said. – Every escapee was reeled in and it came down to a bunch sprint. Our riders did a good job on helping Bartlomiej Matysiak, protecting him from the wind and positioning him for the final sprint. They did exactly what I asked them before the race. The circuit that we were racing on was in a triangle shape, so we had either tailwind, headwind or a crosswind. It was very important to ride as a team in those conditions and we did.

3 kilometers from the line there was a small hill, which was followed by a short descent. The road on the final 1km was slightly uphill and in such terrain Matysiak was able to sprint for the 5th place. Marko Kump (Adria Mobil) claimed another Croatian victory (after Umag Trophy), by outsprinting Erik Baska (AWT-GreenWay) and Maksym Averin (Synergy Baku Cycling Project).

Races in Croatia are characterized by a large peloton (35 teams). Such a big number of riders causes some nervousness in the group and crashes. This time it was not as dangerous as few days earlier but couple of riders hit the ground. One of them was Piotr Brożyna, who fell early on and sustained bruises.

There is one more Croatian race ahead of the riders, 4-day event Istrian Spring Trophy (Mach 12-15).

Porec Trophy, 145km

1. Marko Kump (Adria Mobil)

2. Erik Baska (AWT-GreenWay)

3. Maksym Averin (Synergy Baku Cycling Project)

5. Bartłomiej Matysiak (Poland)

54. Patryk Stosz (Poland)

67. Jakub Kaczmarczyk (Poland)

68. Michał Paluta (Poland)

112. Eryk Latoń (Poland)

138. Piotr Brożyna (Poland) 1:46