Race of Solidarity and the Olympians: Morajko wins the stage, while Marczynski finishes 18th in GC

Jacek Morajko recorded second victory of the team in the Race of Solidarity and the Olympians. He won the last stage, by attacking in the final 10 kilometers.

After 4 days of racing the situation in the general classification was still open. Thus many riders tried to break clear to fight for the bonus seconds on the intermediate sprints. Among them was Tomasz Marczynski, who attacked early on. Him and his breakaway compatriots didn’t stay in the front for too long. After Marczynski, another two CCC Polsat Polkowice riders attacked – Adrian Honkisz and Maciej Paterski. They were part of a 11 men group.

Silver medalist from the national championship 2013 decided to accelerate and together with Pawel Bernas (BDC MarcPol) left other escapees behind. The duo gained 1:20 advantage but got caught in the final 10 kilometers. The decisive move was made by Jacek Morajko and Adam Stachowiak (BDC MarcPol). They created 15 second lead and it was enough to arrive to the finish before the peleton. Former Polish champion, Morajko outsprinted Stachowiak and claimed the victory.

Kamil Zielinski won the final GC and Tomasz Marczynski was the highest ranked CCC Polsat Polkowice rider. He finished in 18th place.


Result of stage 5, Strzyzow- Jaroslaw, 144km

1. Jacek Morajko CCC Polsat Polkowice 3:26:20

2. Adam Stachowiak BDC Marcpol 0:02

3. Davide Ballerini Team Idea 0:04

4. Grzegorz Stępniak

5. Bartłomiej Matysiak
22. Tomasz Marczynski

29. Maciej Paterski

50. Adrian Honkisz
Final general classification of Race of Solidarity and the Olympians

1. Kamil Zielinski (Mexller) 16:17:53

2. Mirko Tedeschi (Team Idea) 0:06

3. Davide Ballerini (Team Idea) 0:09
18. Tomasz Marczynski 0:22

27. Maciej Paterski 0:54

43. Jacek Morajko 12:55

44. Adrian Honkisz 13:07

54. Grzegorz Stepniak 13:59

57. Bartlomiej Matysiak 14:09