Ronde van Vlaanderen: Marycz as the team’s top finisher

Jarosław Marycz was the team’s top finisher in the cycling monument, Ronde van Vlaanderen. It was won by the world champion, Peter Sagan. 

256-kilometer course, 18 climbs and 7 cobblestone sections – that was on the menu of 100th edition of Ronde van Vlaanderen. First hour of racing saw extremely fast pace and average speed of over 46km/h prevented a breakaway of going clear.

The escape was formed at around 55km mark and it included Imanol Erviti (Movistar), Gijs Van Hoecke (Topsport), Hugo Houle (Ag2r), Wesley Kreder (Roompot) and Federico Zurlo (Lampre). Their maximum lead reached 4 minutes, but it was obvious that their chances of going all the way, were very slim.

Later the composition of the break changed, as Nils Politt (Katusha), Andre Greipel (Lotto-Soudal), Dimitri Claeys (Wanty – Groupe Gobert) and Dmitriy Gruzdev (Astana) replaced Kreder and Zurlo.

The decisive move came with 35 kilometers to go, when two world champions – current, Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) and former, Michał Kwiatkowski (Sky) launched an attack. They were soon joined by Sep Vanmarcke (LottoNL-Jumbo). The trio managed to bridge across to the remnants of the breakaway and with 12 kilometers remaining Slovak pulled away alone.

He crossed the finish line with a solid advantage and could celebrate his first victory in one of the monuments. Fabian Cancellara (Trek-Sagafredo) for whom it was the last time racing in Flanders finished second after a strong chase. Vanmarcke took third.

Jarosław Marycz completed the Flemish event in 69th.