Sibiu Tour: Rebellin-Samoilau 2nd and 4th in the final GC, Paterski 4th on the last stage

Davide Rebellin was very close from defending the title from last year, and finished second in the final general classification of Sibiu Cycling Tour. The last stage was won by Marco Zanotti and Maciej Paterski was fourth.

The final stage of Sibiu Tour was hilly, but not as though as stages 1 and 2. In the first part there was Jina climb (980m), the same climb that riders tackled the day before. This is where 4-men breakway gained their 4-minute advantage. Nikolay Mihaylov tried to bridge the gap, but couldn’t reach the escapees and came back to the bunch.

The leading group was working well together but the gap started to shrink. Not only because it had to wait at a closed railway crossing. The breakaway got caught with 18 km to go. Some riders wanted to get the stage win by attacking in the final part  of the race but the sprinter groups didn’t let them.

Everything ended with a bunch sprint which was won by Marco Zanotti. He bested Cristian Delle Stelle (MG Kvis – Wilier) and Antonino Casimiro Parrinello (Androni Giocattoli). Maciej Paterski came in 4th place while Rebellin arrived in the peleton. The Italian claimed 2nd place in the final classification. He was also third in the mountain classification. Stage 2 winner, Bronislau Samoilau crashed in the “safe zone – 3km to the finish – but crossed the line and maintained 4th place in GC. The race was won by Radoslav Rogina (Adria Mobil), and his teammate Primo Roglic was third.

Results of stage 3b, Sibiu – Sibiu, 158,7

1.Marco Zanotti (Parkhotel Valkenburg)  4:01:58

2.Christian Delle Stelle (MG Kvis – Wilier)

3.Antonio Parrinello (Androni Giocattoli – Venezuela)

4.Maciej Paterski

22.Davide Rebellin

34. Lukasz Owsian

45.Adrian Honkisz  0:15

55. Nikolay Mihaylov 0:24

93.Jacek Morajko 1:31

97.Bronislau Samoilau  0:00


Final General Classification

1.Radoslav Rogina (Adria Mobil) 12:58:26

2.Davide Rebellin 1:01

3. Primo Roglic (Adria Mobil)  1:07

4.Bronislau Samoilau 2:09

31.Adrian Honkisz 15:11

35. Nikolay Mihaylov 20:34

48. Lukasz Owsian 28:21

67.Jacek Morajko  37:11

78.Maciej Paterski 41:27