‘Ślężański Mnich’ inaugurates the cycling BGŻ ProLiga 2012.

On Sunday (1 April) the race ‘Ślężański Mnich’ in Sobótka will as usual start the cycling season in Poland, inaugurating at the same time the competitions of the prestigious BGŻ ProLiga.

Along the course around Sobótka riders will have raced for the 21st time. As every year, at the starting line of the main race (120 km) there will be all the elite riders that count, and in the programme of this spring’s cycling festival there are also races of the junior, youth categories, as well as women’s competition.

Last year’s triumpher and at the same time the winner of BGŻ ProLiga 2011, Łukasz Bodnar will, of course, be in Sobótka, in this season representing the professional group of BGŻ Team. Both Bodnar’s team and the teams of BDC Marcpol and CCC Polkowice will stand in their complete line-up stand at the starting line, which promises an interesting fight for the victory and the jersey of the leader of BGŻ ProLiga.
The team of CCC Polsat Polkowice in Dzierżoniów and in Sobótka, at ‘Ślężański Mnich’ is going to appear with the following line-up: Dariusz Batek, Piotr Gawroński, Paweł Charucki, Adrian Honkisz, Nikolay Mihaylov, Tomasz Kiendyś, Grzegorz Stępniak, Bartłomiej Matysiak, Łukasz Owsian, Marek Rutkiewicz, Mateusz Taciak.

For points in BGŻ ProLiga from 1 April to 6 October

As in the previous seasons for the classification of BGŻ ProLiga what will count are the results road cycling elite (seniors) races, announced by the organizers to UCI (The International Cycling Union), and thus complying with all the requirements concerning the organization and the sporting level. Only Polish riders take part in the competition, the best of whom win points in each race. After each race of BGŻ ProLiga the current ranking is calculated, and the cyclist having the biggest number of points receives the jersey of the leader of BGŻ ProLiga. The originator and organizer of ProLiga is Stowarzyszenie Sympatyków Zawodowych Grup Kolarskich, and its titular sponsor is the BGŻ bank.

The classification of BGŻ Proliga embraces 15 races contained in the UCI calendar (single-day, or stage ones), including elite championships of Poland in individual time trial and massed start. In 2012 the races of ‘Ślężański Mnich’ in Sobótka was included into the cycle with the ‘wild card’status, taking into account its significant role in Polish cycling and so were Bałtyk – Karkonosze, Memoriał J.Grundmana i J.Wizowskiego and the Memorial of Stanisław Kirpsza.

In the BGŻ ProLiga the events of the first UCI category (2.1 or 1.1) were distinguished, that is the Szlakiem Grodów Piastowskich race and the Race of Solidarity and Olympics (Wyścig Solidarności i Olimpijczyków). They got into the scoring more points category of Super, where also the elite Championships of Poland in massed start belong.

The races of the cycling BGŻ ProLiga in 2012.

1. Ślężański Mnich Sobótka 1.04
2. The Memorial of Andrzej Trochanowski Baboszewo 1.05
3. Szlakiem Grodów Piastowskich the course, 03-06.05 SUPER
4. Małopolski Wyścig Górski the course, 09-12.05
5. Bałtyk-Karkonosze Tour the course, 20-26.05
6. The Memorial of J.Grundman and J.Wizowski Grębocice 16-17.06
7. Championships of Poland – time trial Jędrzejów, 21.06
8. Championships of Poland – mass-start Jędrzejów, 24.06 SUPER
9. The Race of Solidarity and Olympics the course, 04-08.07 SUPER
10. Wyścig Dookoła Mazowsza the course, 23-27.07
11. The Memorial of Henryk Łasak Sucha Beskidzka, 11.08
12. Puchar Uzdrowisk Karpackich Iwonicz Zdrój, 12.08
13. The Ministry of Defense Cup (Puchar MON) Płock, 18.08
14. Mountains Championships (Górskie Mistrzostwa) Podgórzyn, 26.08
15. The Memorial of Stanisław Kirpsz Sokółka, 06.10

In the individual classification all the riders are taken into account who scored points in a BGŻ ProLiga race or during the elite Championships of Poland in individual time trial and in mass-start race. The scoring and current classifications will be published after each race on the Internet page of ProLiga:

The following awards are planned for the best three riders in the general classification of BGŻ ProLiga: 15,000, 10,000 and 5,000 zlotys.