Sylwester Janiszewski’s third place at the Memorial of ‘Trochan’.

The rider of the BGŻ Team, Tomasz Smoleń, became the winner of the 24th Memorial of A.Trochanowski. After an exciting field sprint he defeated Andrzej Bartkiewicz (Wibatech LMGK Ziemia Brzeska) and Sylwester Janiszewski (CCC Polsat Polkowice).

In the terrible heat, at over 30 degrees Celsius the peloton of 100 riders stood at the starting line in Baboszewo, to fight for the victory in theMemorial of Andrzej Trochanowski, and at the same time to win points for the cycling competition in BGŻ ProLiga.

The riders, and there were among them cyclists from all Polish professional teams (BGŻ Team, BDC MarcPol, CCC Polsat Polkowice and Wibatech Ziemia Brzeska), as well as riders from the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Germany, had a distance of 168km to ride (8 laps, 21 kilometres each).

The contestants rode the first round very peacefully, all the time together. When the next round started, three riders attacked out of the peloton: Damian Walczak (BDC MarcPol), Piotr Wojciechowski (KTK Kalisz) and Max Wasileben (Team Nutrixxion) and they quickly gained lead over the peloton, that was still riding peacefully. The break-away riders, co-operating harmoniously, gained a lead quite soon, reaching over four minutes. The riders of BGŻ Team and CCC Polsat Polkowice could not allow a bigger lead. They imposed a quick pace and when the fifth lap started, the peloton was riding together again.
In the next laps the riders kept their attempts to attack, and some of these attacks were successful, although they did not last too long. In one of such break-aways there was among others Piotr Gawroński from CCC Polsat Polkowice but, unfortunately, this break-away was eliminated two laps before the finishing line too. In the final part of the race, the quite thinned out peloton was riding together, and it was clear that the fight for the victory in the Memorial of ‘Trochan’ would be settled among sprint cyclists.

The quickest at the finish in Baboszewo was the rider of BGŻ Team, Tomasz Smoleń and he was the quickest to cross the finishing line, overtaking Andrzej Bartkiewicz from Wibatech and Sylwester Janiszewski from CCC Polsat Polkowice.

Tomasz Smoleń, winning the Memorial of Andrzej Trochanowski, won further points for the general classification of BGŻ ProLiga and he became its new leader.


The results of the Memorial of A.Trochanowski, Baboszewo, 01 May 2012

1. Tomasz Smoleń (BGŻ Team) 3:57:47
2. Andrzej Bartkiewicz (Wibatech)
3. Sylwester Janiszewski (CCC Polsat Polkowice)

18. Grzegorz Stępniak 0:01
24. Tomasz Kiendyś 0:03
26. Bartłomiej Matysiak 0:12
35. Marek Rutkiewicz 0:21
36. Mateusz Taciak
37 Nikolay Michaylov
60. Piotr Gawroński 3:44